5 Stars to Fracture by Megan Miranda

Published January 4, 2013 by katheryn13

Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine-despite the scans that showed significant brain damage.

Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she’s far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can’t control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it? Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she’s reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy’s motives aren’t quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?

 

So…
There aren’t many books that I can read for hours on end, without getting bored, without getting distracted, and have the world go by around me and not notice. I was pleasantly surprised with just how spine-tinglingly, thought provokingly bittersweet this story was. Is. It’s one of those stories that has a little fantasy mingled with real life troubles that quite frankly, could happen to anyone (besides the sensing the dead part – I doubt THAT happens every day)
I can’t believe this book only got 3 and a half stars because in my opinion, it deserves more. It’s heartwarming, sweet and sad all at once and I ended it with a smile on my face. But at first I didn’t expect a some-what happy ending. I thought it was going to end in a tears.
I honestly cannot recommend this book highly enough. If you want mystery, friendship, the meaning of life and death all in one book, then this is for you. I guess in some ways, I can agree with how Delaney feels about death and old things or people. So in that way, I connected to the character far more than I usually do with other characters.
I thought the relationship between Delaney and Decker was heartbreaking. How Troy was broken and the only way out was the wrong way out and how sad it was that her family were being the way they were.
Yeah… so basically…. you should read this. It really makes you think.
“If you had one day left to live, what would you do?”

-Kat

One comment on “5 Stars to Fracture by Megan Miranda

  • Leave a Reply

    