5 Stars to Dark Seraphine by KaSonndra Leigh

Published January 6, 2013 by katheryn13

“Mom always says the angels walk among us. She forgot to tell me that sometimes they’re not all fluffy and nice.”

Seventeen-year-old Caleb Wood has seen people he calls the walkers since he was a baby. It didn’t take long for him to realize something…no one can see these strangers but him. They never stuck around or tried to touch him. And they never said a word. That was until one day on the first day of class in his senior year when an incredibly gorgeous girl strolls into his life…and things are never the same again.

Soon Caleb realizes he has stepped into the middle of a growing conflict between two ancient groups. And his ability to see the invisible ones, the half-breeds that want to modify the human race, just might be the only hope both he and the mysterious, but infuriating, Gia, have of making it out alive

 

Well well… wasn’t I just sucked into this book pretty much instantly! :)
First off, I really enjoyed reading from a guy’s point of view. Caleb was one interesting character! Cocky, funny, and a smart ass. I loved it! A guys POV just views things slightly differently.

What I wasn’t expecting from this story was such twists and turns. Caleb can see ghosts, angels, and things of that nature which is rather interesting for a quiet guy. But one “Walker”, as he calls him, sticks around. It gets interesting with all the “dark agents” walking around that he can see and this random girl walker that continues to stick around.

You can clearly see the connection between the two and it’s quite a deep connection, without really understanding where it came from. It’s kind of like… an instant love connection, which is always fun to read about.

As you go through the story, lots of strange things happen. You learn about Caleb’s life, his past, and you can see “changes” within him. I don’t want to give anything away, but I will tell you they are really interesting.

The biggest twist is at the end when everything literally comes together. I was not expecting what this walker chick really is, what his “I’m not really into her” girlfriend is, his father, his dream he has often of his past… It was like, WHAT?! I was so not expecting that.

It was nice and so different from what I’m used to and what I had thought it would turn out to be. I liked it a lot and I’m really excited that the next book is coming out soon!! :)

I highly recommend this book. It’s not what you expect, but still it’s a really good surprise. Caleb is a really interesting young man and I was hooked from the first few chapters. Only took two days to finish this one.

I must thank KaSonndra for sending me this book. I can’t thank you enough!! I loved every second of this read.

Sorry if this review sounds choppy, I was on a roller coaster ride with this book. Definitely a page turner!

Great read :)

– a review by Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

