5 Stars to Flat Out Love by Jessica Park

Published January 7, 2013 by katheryn13

Flat-Out Love is a warm and witty novel of family love and dysfunction, deep heartache and raw vulnerability, with a bit of mystery and one whopping, knock-you-to-your-knees romance.

Something is seriously off in the Watkins home. And Julie Seagle, college freshman, small-town Ohio transplant, and the newest resident of this Boston house, is determined to get to the bottom of it.

When Julie’s off-campus housing falls through, her mother’s old college roommate, Erin Watkins, invites her to move in. The parents, Erin and Roger, are welcoming, but emotionally distant and academically driven to eccentric extremes. The middle child, Matt, is an MIT tech geek with a sweet side … and the social skills of a spool of USB cable. The youngest, Celeste, is a frighteningly bright but freakishly fastidious 13-year-old who hauls around a life-sized cardboard cutout of her oldest brother almost everywhere she goes.

And there’s that oldest brother, Finn: funny, gorgeous, smart, sensitive, almost emotionally available. Geographically? Definitely unavailable. That’s because Finn is traveling the world and surfacing only for random Facebook chats, e-mails, and status updates. Before long, through late-night exchanges of disembodied text, he begins to stir something tender and silly and maybe even a little bit sexy in Julie’s suddenly lonesome soul.

To Julie, the emotionally scrambled members of the Watkins family add up to something that … well … doesn’t quite add up. Not until she forces a buried secret to the surface, eliciting a dramatic confrontation that threatens to tear the fragile Watkins family apart, does she get her answer.

Flat-Out Love comes complete with emails, Facebook status updates, and instant messages.

 

So this story was really intense, emotional, strange, heartbreaking, and romantic.

I loved Celeste. She was such a unique and interesting person. She was so different and unique, I loved everything about her. Okay, now that I’ve let that out…

Finn.. Where do I start? Romantic messages, sweet savior type of guy. I was totally falling for him towards the middle. I was like, how much better does a man get VIA internet? Until the twist. No spoilers in this review, but the twist… Oh yes :)

Matthew… Matt… I like Matty the best. He was so nerdy, dorky, and so witty. I loved when he talked and the confidence he had when he was speaking. He is the beauty of a nerd. I loved him so much. I loved him before Finn, has mixed emotions in the middle, hated Matty, and then fell in love with him all over again.

The twist is what sets this book apart. It truly does. I can’t give away spoilers, so I can’t tell you what happens, but I can tell you that you will conflict with emotions and just be left completely speechless, unable to put the book down.

I never thought I could love someone so nerdy in a book. It’s always been about the hot, bad-ass with tattoos. Not this time my friends, not this time. Matty is the winner here.

I will tell you this; Matty was someone who would do anything for anyone he loves. He does this for his family (which is part of the twist) and it is completely mind-blowing, frustrating, and just pissed me off. But, when you thought about it, as Julie did… you came to see it as a positive thing and something that kind of made you go AW… Which is exactly where the twist comes in. I won’t say anything more. If I keep typing, I may give something away…

So, back to Matty. I love him. I want him. I’m just in shock of what happened. But everything that happened in this story made me smile. Def the end! When two people just showed how much they love each other through anything that happens, it’s a beautiful moment. It truly is. I’m left wanting much much more then I was given at the end. I felt I wanted to read MORE of the love story. I want it to continue. I wish there was more. And that’s how an amazing book leaves you. Left wondering.

Def put this one on your to-read list at sometime. I will def be worth your time. I read it in two days. Your hooked from the start. Then your dragged and pulled and can’t even thing of putting it down.

I am in love with Flat Out Love <3

 

– a review by Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

