3 stars to Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Published January 8, 2013 by katheryn13

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand. 

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

It took me a while to grasp what I’d just read long after I’d read it. I absolutely adored the first quarter to half of the book. I adored it. The way Abby and Travis just clicked, just like that. And the romance, the instant connection. I loved the sexual tension, and the fact Abby refused to be anything more than friends with Travis because of her past and also she thought he was bad for her in many ways, except friendship. Unfortunately for her, Travis was in love with her throughout her charade of being “only friends.”

Travis is a bad boy: tattoos covering many parts of his body, the shaved head (I don’t know why but that just screams “BAD NEWS!” to me), the clubbing, the one night stands with numerous amounts of girls. He’s just…not good for commitment. That is until Abby bumps into him at a fight match (yeah, if you needed another reason why Travis isn’t good, the fact that he fights and WINS should help your run away decision.)

And then they gave in to their feelings.

I must say though, the amount of times he called her by her nickname eventually drove me nuts.

Abby, well now, she was a complicated girl. And I have one thing that confused me: the back of the book says Abby doesn’t drink or swear.
Um.
She drinks like a trooper.
Although that is when she’s out in a club, but still. She certainly DOES drink. So the fact that the synopsis says she doesn’t,…. well, let’s just say that confused me a little.
I really liked Abby at first. I thought she held her own pretty well. Always putting Travis in his place whenever he went too far. But my only concern is the amount of times she left him. The way she went about it. But to be honest, I was more concerned about Travis’s mental health rather than Abby’s actions because MY GOD DID HE NEED HELP! Yes, Travis is a sweet guy with a hard edge and had his many good moments, but what I noticed in some OTHER moments was that he was crazy. I mean, bunny boiler – stalker – obsessive – crazy! I mean, the dude was supposed to be this hard lad but he turned into a proper pansy when  a certainly thing happened.

Now, most of the fights I could handle. That was what made up a good 60% of the book: the arguments.
But then all would be well.
At one point I swear I was getting whip lash from all their comings and goings. It was making me very dizzy and I just felt like shouting at the book “COME ON, ALREADY! JUST DECIDE AND GET ON WITH YOUR LIVES!”
Alas, no amount of shouting would fix this Beautiful Disaster.
I have to say, that title is positively accurate!

Something bad happens later on in the story and Abby practically gives up. I won’t say why. But let’s just say, she had reason to. He deserved EVERYTHING he got and still couldn’t see why it was happening. Which made it all the more sad to read.
Then I eventually got into the next few chapters. Until the ending. Okay so I will NOT say what happened, but it was pretty big and this pissed me off and made me want to slap them. Hard.

So the ending is pretty much why I rated this book 3 stars. I was loving it for most of the time and WHAM it just completely destroyed my respect for the characters. The writing was done really well, however. I really believed the characters feelings and their desperation. I actually felt their pain, like I was there.

My favourite characters had to be Finch and America. I also fell in love with Shepley because damn he sounds hot! Parker was nice at first, but some things happen that just make me feel sorry for him and he tried SO hard.
I adored Travis’s family and his brothers’ seem like a right hoot and a half. :)
But mostly this book was centred around Abby and Travis and their dramas. Which were amusing most of the time.

Over all this is a lovely book (and sometimes damn right scary) about love, the struggles of love and friendship and how emotions can sometimes turn ugly and make that love frightening to deal with. I must warn you that this book is VERY SEXY and wow… was it ever.

I would recommend this book to others. The reasons why I didn’t enjoy this as much as I wanted to, wasn’t because of anything major, it was just something that bugged me. But that shouldn’t deter from anyone elses choices. :)

– Kat

Leave a Reply

