5 stars to Chasing Nikki by Lacey Weatherford

Published January 8, 2013 by katheryn13

Chase Walker used to be a good kid—charming, athletic, and with a bright future ahead, but that was before travesty struck his life, sinking him into deep despair. Caught up in a world of drugs and alcohol, he doesn’t notice time slipping away until he’s arrested for underage drinking one night.

Fed up with watching her son destroy his life, Chase’s mom relocates him to live in a small ranching community with his ex-military grandfather. Chase is far from happy about the situation until he meets, Nikki, the cute cheerleader who won’t give football players like him the time of day.

Chase enjoys a good challenge though and sets out to claim Nikki for his own. He soon discovers she’s more than a pretty face—she’s a balm to his troubled spirit also. But when tragedy strikes Nikki’s life too, suddenly Chase finds himself put to the ultimate test. Can he trust Nikki, and all that she’s taught him? Will it be enough

 

Alright. So… let’s just say that this book was 100% about love. Throughout.

In the beginning you learn about Chase’s dark side, the things in his past that have caused him to act out and be this wild… thanggg. Drinking, drugs, sex, and not a care in the world. He gave up football, and you can clearly see later on that he is amazing at football. But the darkness of his past doesn’t stick around too too long in this book. Once he meets Nikki, everything pretty much changes.

He is determined to get her to go out with him; he pretty much adores her. He is so sweet about it too! He let’s her do the first date and he goes along with everything. You find out Nikki has deep secrets as well. She is a SWEETHEART! I’ve never seen a girl so sweet. It was intoxicating.

Anywho. Their love was BEAUTIFUL. Nikki is a “good girl” and even though Chase was… well… Chase, he waited for her. He respected her every thought. Every want. He completely controlled himself, even though there were times she was like, YES LET’S GO! No, he wanted it to be special.

They were very sweet to read, and  the whole book was just freaking incredible. I had a smile on my face the whole time. They truly were in love and you could see he loved her as much as she loved him. They were made for each other; they completed each other. She came into his life at the perfect moment and it was just… beautiful to read.

Until the end…where I cried and cried and cried some more. I’m not the type to cry around people and then complain about it, but that’s what happened here. I finished the book in a car ride with my boyfriend and he watched me just cry about the end and when he asked about it, I just basically complained, cried some more, and was in absolute SHOCK.

I could not believe what I was reading. None of it seemed real. I was waiting for the book to say “HAHA just kidding.” But it never did. It was a tragic ending. I literally… I can’t put into words the emotions I felt. Tears. Heartbreak. I felt I needed to go hug Chase.

Then another twist that makes the tragic part a little better. I cried harder at this!! Happy, I will tell you that. Calmed the nerves a tad… It was beautiful. Another display of true love. Absolute true love. (this probably makes no sense, but I refuse to write a review and give spoilers!!)

So… overall… I was left heart broken and sad and emotional and confused and lost and dead pretty much. I loved this love story and even though that ending happened, I still love this love story.

When I read there was going to a second book, I looked at my kindle and said YES that is what I’m going to read tomorrow. I read this story in literally a day; took a few breaks, but a day was all it took. I never really just read a book in just one day; it takes a lot for me to be THAT sucked in. I also never read in the car and I did that with this book because I simply HAD to know what happened next :)

I highly recommend this book. It’s beautiful. It’s tragic. It’s emotional. I’m left speechless, shocked, and having to buy the next book immediately :)

 

Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

