5 Stars to Finding Chase (Chasing Nikki #2) by Lacey Weatherford

Published January 8, 2013 by katheryn13

Life hasn’t been easy for Chase Walker. He’s experienced tragedy, and at times he’s not sure he wants to continue living. But he made a vow to go on with his life, and he intends to keep it.

After getting a college scholarship to play football, Chase heads off to school, hoping his time on the field will help to bury the intense emotions that still linger in his heart. Fate doesn’t work that way though, and he soon finds himself having to face all the things he’s carrying inside, or he may miss the one shot he has to learn how to love again.

 

Alright. Let me start off by saying I started this at around 8:30 in the morning and I finished it at noon that very same day. TODAY. Literally. I just kept going. There was no stopping me…


I was torn to pieces while I read this. It was so heartbreaking at the end of the last one, I just wanted happy things for this. I laughed, got sad, stayed happy for the long haul, and then DIED, then giggled from happiness. There were so many mixed emotions here!

I had to quickly start reading this story after I finished the first one last night. I HAD to know what happened next. I needed to understand where Chase went from there. So, I bought the book and started promptly! Happy to continue.

It was hard to read about him being so lost and sad… He deserved to be happy but he wouldn’t let himself. It was tragic, and I understand. But… Chase was such an amazing person that he needed someone that could change his life once again.

So, from just the first few chapters, I could see it building; I saw him changing and seeing change in himself. He started to allow himself to be happy again and it was beautiful. I just kept cheering him on as the story went. He finally found love once more.

It was another beautiful love story.

They had a connection that no one could understand. Yes, it was a beautiful love story, yes it was tragic how they were brought together, but somehow I felt it made their love deeper and more meaningful. I loved watching them grow and just become happy once again.

Then the author nearly killed me, AGAIN, with a slight twist in the story. I literally had to read it over a few times before I grasped what was happening. I couldn’t understand why it was happening or what made the author think it was okay to allow that to happen again! I wanted to start crying. I was like NO, you cannot open old wounds like that! I saw it coming during one of their cute dates… and I said to myself, if this happens I may die right now. I couldn’t handle what was about to happen. Then it happened, I cried, and made sure that what I was reading was true. I died a little, but I kept reading.

I’ll tell you I cheered with joy after that. It does have a beautiful ending, with such an AWWWWWW ending and epilogue. It seemed to happen so quickly, and I know some would judge this, but I see the beauty in it and I adored it for that. No spoilers! I’ll just tell you it’s lovely. The way it happened was truly romantic. Then the ending to the epilogue; AW!! So sweet. Beautiful!

Overall, I’d say I’m happy with the way this ended. I died a few times, cried a few times, but I would definitely say to add this to your to-read list. It’s a quick read, beautiful, emotional, and worth the emotional roller coaster :)

I’m so happy for Chase Walker <3

 

Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

