4.5 stars to Crush by Lacey Weatherford

Published January 9, 2013 by katheryn13

Cami Wimberley has a plan, and that plan includes no room for boys—especially the big time party animal, Hunter Wilder, no matter how handsome and charismatic he is. She’s beautiful, a senior, extremely talented, gets good grades, and is working her way toward her dream college to be a musical theater major. Everything is perfect.

Hunter Wilder does not want a girlfriend—that would complicate his life way too much right now. He especially doesn’t want this girl, Miss-Goody-Two-Shoes, so how come he can’t keep his eyes off her? He tries to keep her at arms length, but fate seems to keep pushing them together. Before long, it’s obvious to everyone they’re crushing on each other. 

As sparks begin to fly, Hunter finds himself sinking deeper and deeper into hot water. Soon he’s scrambling to keep Cami from discovering his dark secret—one that can destroy their entire relationship.

I was instantly hooked on this book. I loved how it was the bad-ass falling, man-candy, “I have sex with everyone” falling for the gorgeous nerd. It was sweet and lovely, which felt very typical. But, there were some deep, possibly dark secrets behind Hunter that just made you want to keep reading to find out what he was really hiding.

I’ll tell you, you could see there was an instant connection between Cami and Hunter. It was sweet. It nearly killed Hunter to not share his secrets, but he felt he couldn’t; it wasn’t the right time. I was just like “TELL HER. COME ON! She’s trustworthy.”

Cami, sweet and innocent, had a REALLY ANNOYING best friend Clay. He just drove me up the wall. It was as if he thought he OWNED Cami and she couldn’t date anyone. It really pissed me off. I wanted him to go fall off a cliff or something. Yet Cami, being as he was the BFF since they were 5, didn’t seem to get it.

Throughout the story, you see the relationship build; you see Clay getting weird, Cami demanding answers, a few small fights here and there, but it was over all pretty sweet. I hated not knowing the secrets and I truly felt for Cami. It drove me crazy!

You don’t find out the secrets until almost the end when the twist happens. You find out Hunter’s secret, Clay’s secret, and a few other secrets. It gets INTENSE. My jaw DROPPED. I was like, no… that can’t be… REALLY?! OMG I LOVE IT. It was great. I was shocked when I read the twist, I read it like two times to make sure I read it correctly. Then, I continued on and it just got more and more intense! I wanted to yell at my kindle; NO YOU CAN’T DO THIS!! NOOOO!!

The twist was killer. I thought it was going to end on that bad note. I was rather upset that it felt like it was ending and all that was left was… well…stuff! But, to all my happy ending fans, it does end lovely. Things come into perspective. You see why Hunter wouldn’t share his story. You understand all the sexual tension. You gain a grasp of who Hunter is and why you were right in falling in love with him, even as a bad boy :)

I would definitely say it’s worth reading. Didn’t take me long. Sweet, full of love, drama, and sexual tension. :) Mark as another to-read my friends! The bad-asses are taking over; even if the bad-ass is a cover *wink* (yes, that’s supposed to be a SLIGHT spoiler to get you to go read the book!)

– Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

