5 stars to Reached (Matched series #3) by Ally Condie

Published January 10, 2013 by katheryn13

After leaving Society and desperately searching for the Rising—and each other—Cassia and Ky have found what they were looking for, but at the cost of losing each other yet again: Cassia has been assigned to work for the Rising from within Society, while Ky has been stationed outside its borders. But nothing is as predicted, and all too soon the veil lifts and things shift once again.

 

 

Oh man, that was so good.
I was a bit skeptical at first because I can’t say Crossed was my favourite, but OH MAN did I love Reached. I’ve just finished it, like this minute in time, and I’m in awe. I really am.
The writing was so beautiful and the story…just brilliant. So many twists and turns and emotions flying all over the place. The choices they all had to make, and the nail biting moments when at first I thought they weren’t going to survive the Plague. Seriously, those chapters were the worst. I was praying for Ky, and hoping for Xander and wishing for Cassia. Honestly, this has to be the best book I’ve read this year so far (Okay so that’s not much of a stretch considering it’s only my 3rd book of 2013) and I’m just so sad that the series is over.

So in this book they have cut down the Society and the Rising are taking control. They have a Pilot, finally. He leads the Rising to power by helping share the cure to the Plague that has spread out of control in the provinces and central. It’s horrific how fast it spread and how many people got sick. I was so terrified for Cassia who wasn’t sure if she was immune or not. Ky, Xander and Cassia all work for the Rising, thinking they are helping the situation. But then things happen, everything is turned up side down and…well let’s just say it makes you think “Huh, okay then.” Because the Pilot isn’t being 100% honest. It’s ridiculous! I mean, they think they’re helping?

Then Xander is doing his best by helping the sick and after weeks, months, he finally sees Cassia, but he’s not the same boy she knew before they were separated. They’ve ALL changed, one way or another. But one thing still holds true: Cassia and Ky’s love. It’s so sweet how they stick together through thick and thin. It’s a real showing of how strong they feel for each other. And Xander is so respectful of this; he knows he hasn’t really got a chance, but he still holds out hope.

When people close to the three of them get sick with the plague, and this time the plague has mutated, it is…just traumatic. I’m scared for these people because we all read about them, we all grew to associate them as real people…and then BAM stuff happens.

When they’re finding the cure, they’re moved from place to place. At one point Ky is separated from Cassia and all he wants to do is just ditch his duties and find her, because he loves her and is worried for her. But the Pilot says “NO!” and so he listens.

However, the ending was tied up so lovely that I’m just left with a warm feeling in my chest. You know when a book ends where everything and everyone gets what they want or near abouts and you are so happy for them? Well can I just say this does EXACTLY that. Sure, their lives aren’t perfect. They had to lose some to gain some but in the end they found their way to happiness. Who knows where they’ll go now?

I don’t really know who I was rooting for most. In the first two books I was rooting for Ky, as you do. Xander was a nice guy, but meh. He wasn’t who I would have gone for. HOWEVER. Reached was so evenly shared over the three of them that it was so difficult. It was SO difficult to choose and I ended up feeling sorry for Xander but also wishing Cassia would just ditch her choices and have a three some with Ky. Hahahaha. You know, that wouldn’t have been such a bad idea…

Now poor Ky, he had some troubles. I won’t spoil anything but let’s just say….you might need to sit on your hands so you don’t bite your nails so much. The stuff the guy had to go through…well I was scared. At one point…really scared. And for those of you that have read it, you’ll know what I’m talking about. THAT moment when you thought… NOOOOO!

Cassia has probably one of the biggest self discoveries out of all of them, I think. She finds out things about her family, and this changes her thoughts and feelings towards each of them. It’s really quite…inspiring. And the way she helps lead everyone in the central to be creative…it makes you wonder how the world got so backwards. Almost like they were in the olden days, you know?

I wasn’t too sure about some of the other characters.

Lei… I guess I should have seen that coming, and at the last scene with Xander, it was sweet, and yeah…I’m happy for him.
Indie got on my nerves, though. How dare she come on to Ky like that! How dare she. I didn’t like her attitude to some things, either. She was just so…annoying. I liked the scenes in the mountains and Oker, he was new.

Bram wasn’t in it long, but I always liked him. He’s so sweet, but this time he’s seen so much…it’s heartbreaking.

Over all, this was just so beautifully written and, even though I read slowly (It was 500 odd pages, can ya blame me?), I still couldn’t get enough. It felt a lot like the story was just beginning and I hope, maybe some day in the future, Ally Condie will write a novella about what happened next, hopefully? *puppy dog eyes*

There were tears, laughter, fearful moments when I thought all hope was lost, but they all came out of their journey safe and sound. I’m so pleased with this ending and I wish Ally the best of luck for her next literary adventure. :)

Kat

Leave a Reply

