4.5 stars to The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen :)

Published January 19, 2013 by katheryn13
There are those who don’t get luck handed to them on a shiny platter, who end up in the wrong place at the wrong time, who don’t get saved.Luck was not on Callie’s side the day of her twelfth birthday when everything was stolen from her. After it’s all over, she locks up her feelings and vows never to tell anyone what happened. Six years later her painful past consumes her life and most days it’s a struggle just to breathe.

For as long as Kayden can remember, suffering in silence was the only way to survive life. As long as he did what he was told, everything was okay. One night, after making a terrible mistake, it seems like his life might be over. Luck was on his side, though, when Callie coincidentally is in the right place at the right time and saves him.

Now he can’t stop thinking about the girl he saw at school, but never really knew. When he ends up at the same college as Callie, he does everything he can to try to get to know her. But Callie is reserved and closed off. The more he tries to be part of her life, the more he realizes Callie might need to be saved.

This story is about two young people who have struggled and I mean, truly struggled throughout their lives. Both Kayden and Callie have some deep, dark secrets behind their smiles. They have been haunted by them and it has kinda caused them to be scared of the future, in a way…
It was hard to read what those two struggled with. I just felt… People who have to go through that and make it out are truly beautiful people.
I won’t say what they struggled with, but they did. Rough things. And it was hard for them both to come to terms with their past and open up about them to each other. But I was so happy they found each other. They came into each others lives when they needed someone the most. Their relationship, I truly felt, was based on love and emotion. There was sexual tension, but their relationship was built off words and feelings, not physical attraction. THIS is a love story. A beautiful love story.
I loved reading this. I enjoyed watching their relationship grow; seeing the trust between them grow. I saw Callie grow into a beautiful woman that really opened up and allowed herself to be happy. Same with Kayden. He opened up and allowed himself to feel feelings for Callie that he never experienced before.
Their love… It’s just beautiful because it’s not something you read everyday. I can’t stress enough that this is what I feel is a love story. These two people, who struggled, were able to get past it, grow, and fall in love. It was heartwarming to watch and to feel it. The words in this book really captured the emotions here. It was just… An aw moment :)
Now. I’ll tell you something. There is a CLIFFHANGER! A Killer cliffhanger. My heart sank. My jaw dropped. My eyes watered. It’s very devastating and hard to read. I was in shock from what happened. I’m left with a broken heart waiting for book two. I’ll tell you, as soon as book two is out, I will be getting it. I must know what happens because I’m slowly dying here. Tears will fall. Get a tissue box at the end people!
Overall, this is a beautiful love story. I highly recommend this book. It’s sweet, gentle, and true love. It’s intense as well because of the struggles the two face, but it’s a beautiful love story. I… It’s a love story. Read it :)

Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

