5 stars to Underworld (Abandon Trilogy #2) by Meg Cabot

Published January 21, 2013 by katheryn13

Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn’t dead.

Not this time.

But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.

Her captor, John Hayden, claims it’s for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they’ve come back as Furies, intent on vengeance . . . on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves.

But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there . . . and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies.

And unless Pierce is careful, this time there’ll be no escape.

 

It has been so long since I read Abandon, the first in this series, but it didn’t take me long to figure out what happened and get right into this sequel. I abso-freaking-lutely loved this! Seriously. I have this thing for books revolved around death and the underworld. I don’t know why, and I know it’s morbid – and considering I’m petrified of dying – but it’s just so fascinating! I think part of it is the bad guy image and the…powers, I guess?

Anyway, so Pierce is now in the Underworld with John. She loves him completely. The time scale for this book seems to go over a few days, which all in all isn’t a long time, really.
Pierce struggles with her emotions over John. There’s a few issues that get in their way (mainly trust), and when she finds out one of her relatives is in trouble, she battles with him to let her go and help. She won’t stop, and well, when he gives in….things happen. It’s like a domino set – one thing happens which leads to another, and so on and so forth.

There didn’t seem to be an end to the action and conflict in this and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The romance was also very good, and you got a sense of how Pierce and John’s relationship worked. Although, I think she fell in love with him pretty fast (but then, I don’t remember every detail from the first book so I may have that time frame wrong) I still loved how she managed to change John, to become a better person. Well, for someone who’s Lord of the Dead, anyway. That must be pretty tricky.
It saddened me that John thought so little of himself and was constantly thinking Pierce was going to leave him. I think maybe that’s why I love him so much – and the fact I have a thing for broken men.

The Furies were more involved in this and boy, were they annoying! I swear, they just wouldn’t leave them alone. I guess that was the point. I found myself questioning everyone. Maybe that was what was supposed to happen? Every time a character behaved in an odd way I was constantly thinking “They’re a Fury!” and then they turned out to not to be. I think I had that problem for about four or five characters and each time I was wrong, so it does keep you on your toes, that’s for sure.

I liked how John’s crew in the Underworld were introduced, and I found myself really liking Frank, especially. They were all explained a bit… weirdly, at first, but then once you got to know each of them, I felt they were much more likeable. Henry is adorable, if not a little rude.

The ending completely shocked me. I thought it was all sorted – they’d fixed the problem, saved the day, and off they go back to underworld. Oh no. Not this time. Things take a turn for the worse – and without spoiling – I’ll just say it gets SERIOUSLY intense. I mean, I thought my heart was going to thump out of my chest.

I cannot wait for the 3rd book Awaken. Underworld really was left on a cliffhanger (although thankfully nothing too major, just enough to make you go “WHAT NO WHAT HAPPENED NEXT OMG” and then you get on with your life. Sort of.) and I’m really hoping Awaken will answer all the questions. And finally defeat those evil Furies, because believe me, they drive me nuts. I hope Pierce and John get their happy ever after (if that is possible in death).

I would definitely recommend putting Underworld in your to-read list if you haven’t already. And If you haven’t read the first book, Abandon, you MUST!

Meg Cabot, I applaud you!

 

-Kat

Leave a Reply

