5 stars to My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris

Published January 24, 2013 by katheryn13

On the precipice of her sixteenth birthday, the last thing lone wolf Cat Crawford wants is an extravagant gala thrown by her bubbly stepmother and well-meaning father. So even though Cat knows the family’s trip to Florence, Italy, is a peace offering, she embraces the magical city and all it offers. But when her curiosity leads her to an unusual gypsy tent, she exits . . . right into Renaissance Firenze.

Thrust into the sixteenth century armed with only a backpack full of contraband future items, Cat joins up with her ancestors, the sweet Alessandra and protective Cipriano, and soon falls for the gorgeous aspiring artist Lorenzo. But when the much-older Niccolo starts sniffing around, Cat realizes that an unwanted birthday party is nothing compared to an unwanted suitor full of creeptastic amore. Can she find her way back to modern times before her Italian adventure turns into an Italian forever?

 

Woah. Okay. Where do I freaking start?

First off, this was so GOOD!

I mean, yes, it had its cliche moments, and its “oh yeah, because that’s likely” moments, but to be honest, the writing style, the inner monologue of Cat Crawford was so…fascinating and funny and just plain cool, that you forgot about the flaws and ended up getting sucked in. Well, i did, anyway.
Way to go Rachel Harris!

I am completely impressed and in awe with the whole Renaissance theme and getting the dialogue and scenery spot on (I’m guessing) and I felt like I wanted to be there. I was there. I was in the book. (okay, so not LITERALLY)

At one point I found myself tweeting like they spoke in the 16th century (or any other century but ours), but in ENGLISH, not Italian – because I’m not good with languages.

I fell in love with Alessandra and Cipriano and Lorenzo…and pretty much everyone in this story, except….Niccolo. But I’m sure if you’ve read the book, then I’m not the only one who thought he was one MEGA creep. I get that that was the point…but he seriously made me want to reach into the book and slap him hard.

Cat aka Patience, did a fantastic job at blending in to her new surroundings.

*clears throat*

Really, she did.

Okay, I lie.

She didn’t.

But then, to be fair, I don’t think I would have, either.

There were so many moments where I cracked up laughing at something she’d say in modern speak and then the other peeps would just look at her like “WTF?”
It really made me wonder if any of them had any brains, because if that was to happen to me, I’d have gotten caught out in a second of saying “gonna”. lol.

Lorenzo…man oh man, what can I say? You took my heart from the first moment I saw you…er…when Cat saw you. Hey, my name is Kat, so technically it could have been me…
Don’t hate me because I’m a fangirl!
So anyway, I thought the book was brilliant; it had a kind of..Lizzie McGuire feel to it (in my opinion) just without the time-travel element. I don’t know why, but I just kept on seeing Cat and Lorenzo drive off on a mo-ped together…

I adored the way it tied up after she “returned” and there was this “HOLY SHIT IS THIS REALLY HAPPENING?!” moment that I won’t spoil, but it totally made my heart go BOOM!

I’m seriously hoping for a sequel. That ending was just…. UNREAL! You cannot leave a book like that and NOT have a continuation somewhere in the future. I’ll probably be asking Rachel on twitter, but anyway… I LOVED IT.

I think it’s a bittersweet, romantic, heartwarming, full of friendship and lessons learnt type of story and you’d be a fool to not give it a chance!

:o)

You have to add this to your to-read list PRONTO!

 

Kat

One comment on “5 stars to My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris

  • Leave a Reply

    