5 stars to Divergent by Veronica Roth

Published January 29, 2013 by katheryn13

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the literary scene with the first book in the Divergent series–dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.

 

I didn’t write a review the first time around of reading this. I don’t know why; maybe I was too shocked. Too in awe.

But now I’ve finished Divergent for the second time, I think I can bravely do this. I can!

I think it was just as good, if not better than the first time. I grasped what was happening quicker; some things were clarified and somethings felt like I was reading them for the first time. Granted, it has been nearly a year since I first got this and read it, so yeah.

I learned to love Tris much more, and fell in love with Four all over again.
Beatrice/Tris goes through so many changes in this. She has to learn to abandon her instincts from her old life, and become someone she’s both scared and excited to be. She is literally the bravest female character I’ve read (well, a tie with Katniss Everdeen) and I wish I had half her guts to do the stuff she does.

No matter what gets thrown at her, Tris never gives up, never gives in. She’s so strong and independent, and for her to have to deal with so much… I’d have broken down ages ago. Like, before she even had half the trauma.
I hooked onto Four quicker this time,and understood just how much he liked her when she was so blind to him. I mean, I knew the first time that he did, but now you know what to expect, it’s easier to pick out the small bits; the signs, the things he says.

-Kat

How I wanted kill Peter; I understand he was a coward at the heart of it, but he was so…so cruel. Coward’s usually are, though, right?
The deaths in this…well without spoiling WHO, were really just as sad as the first time around and made my heart break.
I won’t say much more, even though most people have read this book already. I suggest, if you haven’t already, to go and get it because it will rock your world.

2 comments on “5 stars to Divergent by Veronica Roth

  • Leave a Reply

    