5 stars to Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter

Published February 1, 2013 by katheryn13

Katarina Bishop and W.W. Hale the fifth were born to lead completely different lives: Kat comes from a long, proud line of loveable criminal masterminds, while Hale is the scion of one of the most seemingly perfect dynasties in the world. If their families have one thing in common, it’s that they both know how to stay under the radar while getting—or stealing—whatever they want.

No matter the risk, the Bishops can always be counted on, but in Hale’s family, all bets are off when money is on the line. When Hale unexpectedly inherits his grandmother’s billion dollar corporation, he quickly learns that there’s no place for Kat and their old heists in his new role. But Kat won’t let him go that easily, especially after she gets tipped off that his grandmother’s will might have been altered in an elaborate con to steal the company’s fortune. So instead of being the heir—this time, Hale might be the mark. 

Forced to keep a level head as she and her crew fight for one of their own, Kat comes up with an ambitious and far-reaching plan that only the Bishop family would dare attempt. To pull it off, Kat is prepared to do the impossible, but first, she has to decide if she’s willing to save her boyfriend’s company if it means losing the boy.

WARNING: EXTREME EXCITEMENT AHEAD. PLEASE CONTINUE WITH CAUTION.

OH MY GOD! I loved it.
So I just this minute finished it. I am in…complete and utter shock. This has to be the best…and that’s saying something because books 1 and 2 were phenomenal! No word of a lie. (well, in my opinion.)

So Kat and Hale are a couple. WHOOOPPEEEEEEEEE!!!

But not all is safe.
When Hale’s grandmother dies, and leaves the will, saying Hale inherits Hale Industries….well you know things aren’t always what they seem, right? Especially not in Kat and Hale’s world. There’s Garrett, who is the family’s lawyer, and a really creepy, patronising, smarmy git of a guy. I won’t spoil, but let’s just say he has plans. Lots of eeeeeeevil plans.

There’s a science-y prototype that is supposedly going to make them millions…. and what does Garrett do? Well…he….. Yeah, right, like I’m going to tell you. Basically, he (TRIES!) to cons everyone. But does he really think he can get away with it? Can he really con Hale, and along with him, one of the biggest con families ever?
There was a lot of nervous, biting of nails moments in this. Several times I feared for Kat and Hale, hoping beyond hopes they’d work through their problems. And well… they did and they didn’t, then they did and then…you get the picture. It was a bumpy ride.
The whole gang were in this and I personally ADORE Hamish and Angus. They remind me of the Weasley Twins from Harry Potter (just in case you don’t know…) with their tricks and witty lines. Gabrielle is so funny with her come backs and flirting… and randomly diverting off course when it comes to their “show time” moments.
There was new competition in the shape of a girl named Natalie. She was….well, I’m not sure how I felt about her. Her father, Garrett (which confused me since her surname was Garrett so I couldn’t tell if he actually had a first name or not…) was such a slimy moron that it was natural to be skeptical of his daughter.

Hale was so sad after losing his grandmother. He thought he’d finally have a place in the Hale family, after always feeling sidelined, and then he learns that it might have been a lie… Kat couldn’t seem to save him. He pulled away so much and I found myself feeling like:

Several times.

And then came the moment of near the end when I swear to God, I freaked out. I won’t say what. But you may or may not want to strap yourself in and grab some tissues.

And then my heart started beating again in a normal rhythm. I hate it when that happens.

Over all this was SUCH an epic read and I’m so so so so so glad I read it but now I’m not even sure if there’s a 4th one or if that was it or what? Because I’m lost. I NEED MORE HALE AND KAT!!! AND EVERYONE ELSE!

Ally Carter, you did it again. You made me love Hale even more.

Oh and in case you don’t know, we find out what Hale’s family call him. BUT WE WERE SO DAMNED CLOSE TO HIM SAYING HIS REAL NAME! OMG!
Also…shirtless Hale. mmmmmmm

So that’s it really, from me. I think I’ve said all there needs to be said. Oh, one more thing:

GO. READ. THIS. PERFECT. PIECE. OF. LITERATURE. PERFECTION!

Perfect Scoundrels indeed. :D
-Kat

 

 

Leave a Reply

