3 stars to The Blood Keeper (The Blood Journals #2) by Tessa Gratton

Published February 11, 2013 by katheryn13

For Mab Prowd, the practice of blood magic is as natural as breathing. It’s all she’s ever known. Growing up on an isolated farm with other practitioners may have kept her from making friends her own age, but it has also given her a sense of purpose – she’s protective of the magic, and is able to practice it proudly and happily out in the open with only the crows as her companions.

But one morning while Mab is attempting a particularly tricky spell, she encounters Will, a local boy who is trying to exorcise a few personal demons of his own. He experiences Mab’s magic in a way his mind cannot comprehend and is all too happy to end their chance meeting. But soon, secrets that were kept from Mab by earlier generations of blood magicians are revealed, and she and Will are drawn back together, united against a dangerous force looking to break free from the earth and reclaim its own dark power.

I was really looking forward to this, the sequel to Blood Magic. Different main characters, but over all connected to the first.

But I have to be honest, I struggled through the first 150-200pages. It wasn’t that it was boring, as such. It was just extremely slow, and the heavy descriptions made it hard for me to get sucked into the world.
After this period, it started to get going; the romance escalated and the story line became apparent. Because before that, I’d started to wonder when anything was going to happen.

Mab did annoy me to begin with. She seemed pretentious, set in her ways, and just…a pain. Gradually her reasons became clearer and she grew on me. But not that much.

I liked Will straight away, and surprisingly not just because he’s good looking (although, that helped :P ) but because he was…so normal, and not in a cliche way. He had more layers to his personality that made him refreshing to read about. The dynamics between him and his brother, Ben was intense, and their relationship was complex. But at least it made the story not just about Will and Mab. For most of the book, with all the things happening, I became much more attached to Will, hoping he made it through. There seemed to be more input on his side of the story than on Mab’s.

It was fun to have mentions of Silla and Nick as they were main characters in Blood Magic, although not as much as I’d have liked.

The basic premise of this story could have been so much better, in my opinion. There was a lot of emphasis on the scenery and the trees, and fields… it just seemed a bit … over the top?
I get that was how Mab was, and that was her world, but writing wise it could have been toned down.

When I hit the late 200’s pages, things sped up and I could see a plot working its way in. It was interesting reading the letters from Mab’s grandmother, although to be honest, the connection between the family members confused me. I wasn’t sure who Mab’s mother was at first, and only half way through did it click. It didn’t help that I lost concentration some parts into it.

There were a couple of big twists that surprised me. I really didn’t see them coming. Not like that, anyway. I knew something might happen but…yeah.
I really enjoyed the second half, despite how slow I got through it. The reason I give this book 3 stars is because of how slow I found it until then. The writing was beautiful, though, even if it was slightly heavy to understand. Not shakespeare heavy, just more than I’m used to.

Over all it had a lovely ending and there’s plenty of nail biting moments towards the final scenes that made this worth the read.

 

Kat

Leave a Reply

