5 stars to The Selection by Kiera Cass

Published February 15, 2013 by katheryn13

 

Thirty-five beautiful girls. Thirty-five beautiful rivals…

It’s the chance of a lifetime and 17-year-old America Singer should feel lucky. She has been chosen for The Selection, a reality TV lottery in which the special few compete for gorgeous Prince Maxon’s love.

Swept up in a world of elaborate gowns, glittering jewels and decadent feasts, America is living a new and glamorous life. And the prince takes a special interest in her, much to the outrage of the others.

Rivalry within The Selection is fierce and not all of the girls are prepared to play by the rules. But what they don’t know is that America has a secret — one which could throw the whole competition… and change her life forever.

First off, I LOVE being surprised by books. This is one of my many loves. I’d heard about The Selection for quite a while, but like many other books that have “surprised” me, I delayed the inevitable because the cover didn’t “call out” to me. Do you ever get that?
I thought that it was just a younger teens book (not like some or most of the YA books I read that are…let’s say…for the slightly older majority – despite the fact I’m not ACTUALLY a teen anymore. :( ) and therefore wouldn’t appeal to me.
NOW…let me just admit I was wrong to judge this FANTASTIC piece of artwork the way I did. I am sorry to have let it slide on by. I heard it is to be a TV programme and I thought, “Hmm, I wonder what it’s like?”
I asked around and plenty said it was good. But no one told me just HOW good. I can certainly see the Hunger Games comparisons: Girl takes part in a competition with 34 other girls to become the prince’s wife and battles it through hardships, etc. The people of Illea are sectioned into “castes”, etc. But asides from those examples, the rest is completely off the scale!
I adored the relationships between America and her family; and the difference in living style compared to say, her boyfriend, Aspen. And how they judged by what Caste you come from…it’s rather similar to nowadays, and how people judge you if you’re not as well off in finances as some.
It was very interesting to find a Prince like Maxon who was not altogether like you expect. Sure, he first APPEARED like a stuck up git, but he was not in fact, a stuck up git. I loved the changes, and the subtle growing of his and America’s friendship. The story had its ups and downs, and one very big complication that made me want to scream.
There were mild moments of romance, but this, ultimately, isn’t the centre attraction. There’s heavy emphasis on friendship as a whole and you see how many teenage girls behave when in such close proximity to one another.
I am really looking forward to getting my hands on the second book and I really want to find out what happens. I mean, I am thoroughly in love with these characters.

There are tellings of how The United States got to the state it did, and I found it interesting on how almost prophecy like it sounded. I won’t go into detail, but this to me made the story have a bit more depth to it. It wasn’t just a story based in the future for no real reason, in my opinion.

I know I’m just one person, but I can’t recommend this highly enough. You don’t need tons of hot romance or swearing or violence in a book to make it captivating or interesting. This is none of this and still, it held my attention and made me root for a certain person (will not say who because my opinion may change.)
So go out and read this if you haven’t already. It may not be high up there with your most precious novels, but it’s certainly something to enjoy, and who knows, you may fall in love like I did.
:)

Kat

Leave a Reply

