5 Stars to Everbound by Brodi Ashton

Published February 18, 2013 by katheryn13

Two months ago, the Tunnels of the underworld came for Nikki Beckett. That night, Nikki’s boyfriend, Jack, made the ultimate sacrifice. All Nikki wants is to save Jack before it’s too late. All Cole wants is to find his queen – and he thinks Nikki is the one. Both determined, both desperate, Nikki and Cole form a tense alliance, leading them on a dangerous journey to The Heart of The Everneath.

 

 

 

 

 

OH. MY. GOD.

OH MY GOD.
OH…MY GOD.
OH, my god.

I’m not sure there’s any other way to describe the rollercoaster ride that is Everbound.
I have just finished and for the last chapter, my jaw dropped. LITERALLY.

So okay…I guess I need to start from the beginning. Nikki’s boyfriend, Jack, was sucked into the Tunnels at the end of Everneath. And now, Nikki has a plan to go and rescue him because he was never supposed to go there. She was. He took her place. Why? Because he loves her.
Who wouldn’t sacrifice themselves for the one they love?

The only problem is, Cole is missing and Nikki needs something of his to be able to go to the Everneath. Not to mention FIND the Tunnels. It’s a pretty complex navigation system there. Luckily when things get rolling, she finds she has her own personal GPS called a Tether. I know, cool right?
With Cole and Nikki on their little adventure is the other band member of the Dead Elvises, Max. Now, he wasn’t really in Everneath that much, but now you really see more of him. He’s funny, and in a ways, not just your typical sidekick. On the way, Cole invites a friend called Ashe who apparently owes Cole a favour. It’s all very sketchy.
And so they go on their merry way…

Well, without spoiling too much, this part of the book reminds me so much of the Triwizard Tournament in Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire, the only difference is rather than going to a cup, they’re going to find Jack.
So much happens in this and it’s literally breathtaking (not in the good way) when they’re chased by Wanderers and Shades and avoiding fire walls (Sounds like internet security gone wrong) and waterfalls. There’s plenty of action and moments of intense “is he/she dead? can they escape?” feelings. Each obstacle, each Ring they enter (There’s even a Ring of Fire… which I couldn’t help but sing “ring of fire” by Johnny Cash when I got to that) affects certain emotions.
It’s all very…precise. And boy, does Nikki hold a lot of emotions.

Cole…changes a little in this, and you start to realise that he might not be as self centred as he seems. There is so much built up sexual tension that I wanted to scream at the top of my lungs “JUST KISS ALREADY!” but of course then my guilt for Jack came in and I was back to, “Hurry up and save him!”

I’m not even sure how to explain how my own emotions played in this, and to say it was up and down would be an understatement. One minute I rooted for Cole, the next for Jack, then I kinda thought Nikki and Will (Jack’s brother) should date (because I was getting annoyed with Nikki not getting any action. So sue me.) but then my rooting would go somewhere else and I’d be confused. It’s really hard to keep straight in this. Jack mainly appears in dream sequences, where he visits the surface at night (in Nikki’s dreams) because she’s his tether? I think that’s right. I forget. Anyway.

I thought everything was going swimmingly (slightly sarcastic, but not quite) up until…let’s say, the last three chapters? When something BIG happens (no spoilers) and I’m like “Woah, ok, that’s great, Nice. Easy does it.) and then WHAM BAM THANK YOU MA’AM, the last chapter?

I died.
No, I’m not kidding.
I am typing this from beyond the grave. Yeah, there is internet down here. It’s fun. Ultimate WIFI access. Who knew?

Because HOLY MOTHER OF HELL was that the CLASSIEST MOVE YET!? That cliff hanger. WHAT IN THE WORLD?

I don’t think I’ve been that surprised, that caught out at a twist, in YEARS. And that’s saying something because I read a lot of cliff hangers.  I guess, in an alternate universe (inside joke), I should have seen it coming. I suppose, if I hadn’t been so caught up in what was happening, then I might have been like “Hmm yeah I guess it was obvious” But NO it wasn’t. It’s a kick in the teeth twist. So remember your painkillers!

I really cannot wait for the 3rd book, because by golly is it going to be a doozy.
Seriously add this to your to-read list, and if you haven’t already picked up Everneath (book 1) DO SO NOW!

Kat

Leave a Reply

