5 stars to Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

Published February 20, 2013 by katheryn13

Juliette’s world is beginning to unravel.
Everything is falling apart changing.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point-the headquarters of the rebel resistance. There she discovers other people with abilities. Abilities they have learned to control. And for the first time in her life, Juliette has hope. Hope that she can have a life with Adam. Hope that her touch can be used to save instead of destroy.

But Juliette is only just beginning to understand the depth of her power, and she’s struggling to fight the desire to use it. She’s still haunted by her past, terrified by her future, and too tempted by Warner, who still wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart-and Adam’s life.

 

If I could give this book 10 stars, I freaking well would. How can I possibly explain to you, in any words, how much this book…captured me, awed me, almost KILLED me. (not literally, mind you. Just emotionally.) And still made me laugh, almost cry (because actually crying would involve energy) and get so much butterflies from… Well, you’ll have to find out.

I seriously can’t believe it’s over. Unravel me was 469 pages of pure bliss, action, desire, laughs, fear…everything one can hope for in a book. Tahereh Mafi is literally a genius. How she manages to make a book so captivating and just so….epic, I will never know. Page after page after page, I couldn’t, wouldn’t take my eyes off it. Unfortunately, there were moments when I HAD to, but still…

So…ugh, where do I start? Adam…oh baby let me hug you? You and Juliette were so perfect for each other, and then you had to go and get POWERS. I mean, really. How inconvenient.

So, we know he can touch Juliette. But how? Well, you’ll find out.
There are a few moments between them that are so…intensely dramatic and heartbreaking.

And then there’s Kenji. Dude, you are hilarious!
He literally lights up the room. The situation will be as bad and as serious as anything, and he’ll come along and change the mood. It’s great but also kind of intimidating.
He was the rock between Juliette and Adam when things got tough and I so admired his strength because jeez the amount of whinging Juliette does, I’m surprised he didn’t just give up right away. But she calms down, so it’s all good.

Juliette has a lot of issues to wade through, and one of them certainly being her relationship with a certain Mr Kent, but also… dundunduuuuun….a certain Mr Warner…

He has a BIG part to this part of the story, and I have to admit, I’m…kind of in love with him. Yeah he’s a big bad wolf but even wolves have their furry cuddly sides, don’t they?
No?
Oh, maybe that’s just me then. *sigh*
There are some INTENSE scenes – well, the whole book is intense, so who am I kidding? – between Warner and Juliette, and I would just say…remember to breathe.

There’s so much action, and just…live or die moments that shook me so hard, I didn’t know how to cope. At one point I thought I was going into cardiac arrest because of the drama. Okay, maybe that’s a bit over board. lol But you’ll see.

I really don’t know what else to say because I feel like everything is a spoiler, and without putting too finer point on it: IT’S SO FULL OF AWESOME IT’LL BLOW YOUR SOCKS AND SHOES OFF!
There, that’s it in a nutshell. It’s not often I read a book that hooks me, and especially with such a weird (and yet strangely wonderful) writing style. It’s unique, but not for everyone, so I’m thankful I like it. It’s…cool.

Oh, another thing: you meet Warner’s father. Who, by the way, is freaking SCARY! I think of Voldemort with a hot face and no wand? *mind wanders*

So yes, there are sexy guys in suits, sexy BOYS in suits, sexy boys with blond hair, no SHIRT and no PANTS … *shuts up now* Don’t worry, it’s not what you think.

I hope Adam is okay. I hope Juliette is okay. I hope Kenji is okay. James, kiddo, you better be okay.
And Warner, you can be okay in my bed, ‘kay?

Yep, that’s it. Bye.

*is off to sleep off this book hangover*

 

Kat

Leave a Reply

