3.5 stars to Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Published March 7, 2013 by katheryn13

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees . . . .
Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.

THERE MAY BE THE ODD SPOILER IN THIS. SORRY, I TRIED TO TONE IT DOWN.

Maybe more 4stars…but just by a pinch.

I did really like this story, though. I wasn’t sure I would at first, because to be honest, I’d heard such contrasting opinions on it.

In the beginning it was slow, and sometimes slow is okay, and that was one of these times. I got the feel for the scene, the people. But there were many times that bugged me, such as a lot of cliches and “predictability” moments. Now, don’t get me wrong. I love a good ole cliche as much as the next person, sometimes. It just depends on what that cliche is and in what context. But there were quite a few small, niggly ones that at times, got on my nerves.

I liked the basic premise that Clara is a quarter part angel and has a purpose. That is definitely different to other angel based books I’ve read, so you know, so far so good.
What did irritate me however was the constant mention of how gorgeous Christian was, or how “beautiful” she felt. I mean, come on. Yes we may feel pretty sometimes, but Clara doesn’t come across as a vain sort of person, so for her to be all “I feel beautiful” seems really…weird. It actually makes me cringe when I read characters saying this because it’s so far beyond cheesy, it’s practically cheese sauce. lol
Okay, so eventually she stopped oggling Christian so much (and more to the point, she stopped describing his looks so much) and we got a feel of what her “purpose” actually was. Gradually, though, in the descriptions of the vision, I had this niggling feeling in the back of my mind of what was, or might, happen. I’ll get to that later.

Then there’s Tucker. Boy did he annoy me at first. But then, when his sister told Clara about what he thought…I thought, why bother? It would have been WAY more fun and interesting if Clara hadn’t been given any clue (no matter that she was “oh that’s not true. You’re exaggerating.” over the situation.) and for Tucker to spring his feelings on her. You know, make it a bit more spontaneous. Random. Otherwise you’re reading half the story already knowing, guessing at least, what is going to happen. But that didn’t exactly detract from the fuzzballs of love I was getting from Tucker and what I was feeling towards him. He reminded me of those tales kids would say at school “if a boy picks on you it’s only because he likes you” and so yeah, it made me all “awwwwww” lol

Part of the time I’d forgotten about Christian, and that was both good and bad. Also, there are the odd “Acts Of Randomness” in this where things will happen and I’d be thinking “WTF was that? That was so out of the blue.” Like, for instance, a certain Angel, who I will not spoil, but he’s pretty intense with Clara’s mother. That scene was so out of the blue, I was like…huh? I’m hoping it’s clarified in the second book, because otherwise…what was the point?

Angela…
Okay, now, I’m going to give it to you straight: I thought Angela was ANNOYING as hell. Not that I personally know what hell is like, or whether or not it is annoying, but she was just VERY Annoying. Yes, that has to be capitalised.
She was okay in the start of things, but OMG her incessant chattering, and then she wouldn’t stop nagging Clara about her focusing on the “purpose” and crap, that OMG I wanted to slap her. Is that bad of me? Probably.
Wendy was good, but also annoying in parts. I liked Jeffrey, Clara’s brother. He wasn’t in it that much, but I quite liked him. He was quiet, but also there’s something intriguing about him…

And then comes the “purpose”, the “vision” and Christian and her all important job. i did see this coming and it did not surprise me…well, actually, it did a little, and I say that with my forefinger and thumb a smidgen apart.
Non surprise aside, I liked the ending. Obviously it wasn’t going to be a clean ending because there are other books in the series, but it wasn’t a major twist, or cliff hanger, so I’m not hanging on the edge, about to die of fangirling, if you know what I mean.

Writing wise, it was pretty good. I mean I have read far worse and as angel stories go it was, to me, fairly decent.
So would I recommend this? Yeah, I probably would. I can’t say that everyone would love it because, let’s face it, not everyone is going to love everything, but as far as a decent, enjoyable, time passing book goes, this one ticks all the boxes. I didn’t get bored, and I didn’t hold onto the bars with excitement.

I will be reading Hallowed. :)

Kat

One comment on “3.5 stars to Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

  • Leave a Reply

    