4 stars to You Had Me At Hello by Mhairi McFarlane

Published March 17, 2013 by katheryn13

What happens when the one that got away comes back?

Rachel and Ben. Ben and Rachel. It was them against the world. Until it all fell apart.

It’s been a decade since they last spoke, but when Rachel bumps into Ben one rainy day, the years melt away.

From the moment they met they’d been a gang of two; partners in crime and the best of friends. But life has moved on. Ben is married. Rachel is definitely not. In fact, the men in her life make her want to take holy orders…

Yet in that split second, Rachel feels the old friendship return. And along with it, the broken heart she’s never been able to mend.

If you love David Nicholls and Lisa Jewell then this is the book for you. Hilarious, heartbreaking and everything in between, you’ll be hooked from their first ‘hello’.

Well, it has been many years since I have read what you might call “chick lit” (or if you want to be politically correct: adult contemporary) and I have to say I couldn’t have picked a better book. I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely story, and even though it took me quite a while (due to sickness, etc) I never got bored. Every time I thought something would happen…it didn’t. And then things would take a turn and catch me by surprise. It’s one of those less-cliche kind of stories, where you think you know the way it’ll go, but you don’t really. I mean, I was seriously doubting the outcomes. It was “will they? won’t they?” every scene. I’ve never had such yo-yo feelings before and it was very disconcerting.

The writing style was just perfect for me. I could easily get used to that style, and the way Mhairi wrote the character of Rachel, and her inner dialogue. I mean, some of the turn of phrases were hilarious! And this is a VERY British book, which was slightly odd for me since I’m so used to reading Young Adult books based in USA. But I am British, so it was nice to recognise places named. Whenever somewhere in Manchester was mentioned I’d be all “Been there!” lol so it was fab!

I would recommend this, but possibly not to younger people, because it’s probably hard to get into the mind set of someone in that position (early 30’s, marriage, divorce, etc) Although, that’s not to say I found it easy (and I’m 26), but I read lots of Sophie Kinsella books when I was younger, so I guess I was used to it. It’s definitely a book to read, anyway. VERY funny, witty, thought provoking about life, the future, etc.

Also, I think I fell in love with Ben. <3 (He definitely had me at “hello” :P)

 

Leave a Reply

