5 stars to Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Published March 29, 2013 by katheryn13

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

 
Holy. Moly. I think I just went on a sick twisted roller coaster that I was terrified to ride but wanna do it again.

This book was so emotional and intense and scary and plot twisting and just words cannot describe this book. I was sucked in from the beginning. To be honest, I didn’t really like Sky. I couldn’t understand her attitude towards the world or why she acted the way she did… but once Holder came in… damn did things change! I started to want to know more… and I read it in two days. I was beyond blown away with all the plot changes and the emotional disasters that came along with it.

Holder. I honestly thought he was crazy. Bipolar. SOMETHING! He went from gentle to intense. I’d like to call him over passionate. Seriously though!! He was amazingly gentle and beautiful with his words and his physical behaviors, but then he would have moments where you just read his behavior and was like wtf just happened. You learn to love him. A LOT if I do say so myself.

The plot twists and roller coasters I went on during this story was INTENSE. One thing happens, things get flipped upside down, more things happen, something SERIOUSLY scary happens, and I’m just sitting here like OMG did that just happen? I have to keep reading to make sure I’m not dreaming… then another thing. IT WAS CRAZY. It… I… no words. If you like shocking things and things constantly changing, shocking you emotionally, then you will honestly love this story!

But can I say… seriously, I’m sure most people see it’s a love story. Holder and Sky. Literally… there love is so beautiful. I’m sure I say this about most romance stories but this one… this one I honestly think is one of my top beautiful love stories. In MY OPINION… I would say it’s similar to Travis Maddox and Abby in Beautiful Disaster. It’s intense… it’s constantly changing, surprising you, but it’s a beautiful thing. They love each other through thick and thin, through literally ANYTHING. Their love is strong, passionate. It just makes you “feel”. I couldn’t have asked for a better pair to read this story through. Absolutely beautiful to read. THIS made the story what it is. Not the crazy events and the heart breaking moments. Their love is just beautifully written.

This was a beautiful story about a girl who falls hopelessly in love with a boy as their lives LITERALLY flip upside down. Absolutely a beautiful story. Wonderful. Intense. Passionate. <3

 

-Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

