Review: 5 Stars to CLOCKWORK PRINCESS by Cassandra Clare

Published April 7, 2013 by elenafx

6131164

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy. 

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy?
Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.
A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

NO SPOILERS AHEAD.

Let me fill you in on something before this review officially begins. I adore Cassie Clare’s books. She’s been my favorite author since I first read The Mortal Instruments. So you can understand how much I wanted to read Clockwork Princess. Since the moment I finished Clockwork Prince, about one year and a half ago, I yearned to have this book in my hands. But the day it actually came out, I couldn’t read it. I was reading about 10 pages per day – I just couldn’t read it. So when Friday came (it released on Tuesday, March 19th) I’d read only about three chapters, I think. But then Sunday came and I sat down and read it all without stopping. I hadn’t had school on Monday so I stayed up till six in the morning crying and crying and crying. Thanks a lot, Cassie!

The book begins full on with action and humour I didn’t expect. For some reason, I’ve been ready for tears since paragraph 1 (yeah, I’m a drama queen, I know) but, no, there was a lot of action and a lot of funny moments with Will or Gabriel, mostly. The Lightwood boys, Gideon and Gabriel, where a lot in the final book which had me over the moon. I adore those two. A lot happened to both of them. Both on a romantic level and action one. Gideon knows where his loyalty lies, but things are a lot more complicated where Gabriel’s concerned. He’d been brought up to hate Charlotte Branwell and the members of the London Institute. But now he’s staying with them. The mystery that is Gabriel continues throughtout the book which I loved. Gabriel has always been kind of a mystery to us. There’s a good side of him but he’s vulnerable and you never know what he’s going to do next. But a certain female helps him find himself once and for all. Where Gideon is concerned, things are a lot clearer. He’s the good, serious Gideon we all know and adore, just totally whipped. His love for Sophie continues full on and he’s determined to show her he’s in love with her. Aw, Gideon!

Meanwhile, a lot is happening in the London Institute. I love the fact that Cassandra can mix it all up. Action, love, bittersweet scenes all at once. One moment, a huge lead on Mortmain is found and then the scene changes completely. There are a lot of scenes between Jem and Will (HERONSTAIRS, PEOPLE!) throughtout the book that had me literally sobbing. I wasn’t so moved in the scenes between Jem and Tessa or Will and Tessa, so much as Jem and Will. Those two are not just parabatai and it shows a lot in this book. They’re more than brothers or parabatai. Their souls are linked. They’d die willingly for each other. Their bond is unimaginable and I don’t think there’s someone who was not moved by their relationship or merely by the dialogues between them in Clockwork Princess. I sincerely believe that the relationship between William Herondale and James Carstairs is the best thing I’ve ever read. I can honestly say I haven’t sobbed so hard for any other book characters as I had for Will and Jem.

What happens in the end concerning Jem, Mortmain, and what Tessa is – I so hadn’t expected any of those things. I mean freaking nothing. The clockwork angel Tessa always wears plays a huge role in the ending of the book. God, I didn’t see that one coming either and I loved it! I loved that Cassandra had me constantly screaming in the last fifty pages or so of the book. And crying – God, did I cry! Cassie had us all wrapped in her little web and we totally fell for it. I think now’s the moment to officially state that Cassandra Clare’s writing is magical. Especially in The Infernal Devices, she writes so professionally. She’s noticed every single detail, every single thing that leads back to The Mortal Instruments, she’s written it with such care. Her writing is so vivid, so addictive, she has everyone hooked to her every word. Especially in The Infernal Devices, her writing is so lyrical, so poetic. It flows perfectly. If I could, I’d give Cassandra a Nobel Prize for Clockwork Princess.

And then there’s the epilogue. It’s taking place in London, Blackfriars Bridge, 2008. Tessa recalls her life so many years ago. I don’t think I’ve sobbed so hard about anything in my life, let alone an epilogue. But this – this was the most perfect and bittersweet and heart-breaking thing I’ve read in my life. I was reading and sobbing hysterically at the same time. At one point, I just stopped and cried for a good twenty minutes. But then I started reading again and here come the tears once more. My parents thought I was hurt or something but I just told them to back off which earned me a good talk about me going to a shrink the next day (fyi, they were joking, they didn’t send me to the crazy doc). When I finally finished the whole book, I curled up in my bed and sobbed for an hour. Then, I stayed up for a long time thinking about those characters I love so much. There were a lot of soundless tears involved. Writing this review right now makes me emotional. Don’t judge, my zodiac sign is cancer.

To sum up, I just want to say how grateful I am for The Infernal Devices. Cassandra Clare has written a series I’ll always love and have in my heart. I adore those characters more than anything. Clockwork Princess was everything I wanted it to be but at the same time so much more. Perfect in so many ways! Even though it pains me that it actually ended, I’ll be forever grateful for those characters, that they all had a perfect ending. And I’ll never forget them. Thank you so much, Cassandra Clare, for this amazing series and for these extraordinary characters that have touched everyone’s heart.

Ave atque vale, The Infernal Devices.

-Elena

One comment on “Review: 5 Stars to CLOCKWORK PRINCESS by Cassandra Clare

  • The love story was truly Jem and Will. It was my favourite part of the books. I wasn’t as invested in these as I am with TMI (rabid Fangirl alert) and I was spoiled for EVERYTHING in this book so while I admit I did cry on the train once (or twice) I didn’t have all “the feels” (kinda hate that word lol) and the incident in Wales happened too soon for me and bordered on disrespectful. Anyway I think I have PMS lol and just ranty at this stage ;) Great review! Glad you loved them so much x

  • Leave a Reply

    