5 stars to Sever (The Chemical Garden Trilogy #3) by Lauren DeStefano

Published May 5, 2013 by katheryn13

With the clock ticking until the virus takes its toll, Rhine is desperate for answers. After enduring Vaughn’s worst, Rhine finds an unlikely ally in his brother, an eccentric inventor named Reed. She takes refuge in his dilapidated house, though the people she left behind refuse to stay in the past. While Gabriel haunts Rhine’s memories, Cecily is determined to be at Rhine’s side, even if Linden’s feelings are still caught between them.

Meanwhile, Rowan’s growing involvement in an underground resistance compels Rhine to reach him before he does something that cannot be undone. But what she discovers along the way has alarming implications for her future—and about the past her parents never had the chance to explain.

In this breathtaking conclusion to Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden trilogy, everything Rhine knows to be true will be irrevocably shattered.

It’s been a while since I read Wither and Fever, but one thing I will admit now is I didn’t enjoy them as much as I did Sever. Which I find typical given that this is the final one of a series. Sometimes I find I only enjoy the first two but not the last.

That’s not to say I hated the first two, because I didn’t. In fact I rated them pretty high on my books to read, but style wise, and the way it flowed was so much better and different in Sever, I could just fly through it and not get bored. One thing I did notice, whether that was intentional or not, was there wasn’t as much…(how do I put this?) fancy prose. There was story, there was good character development and things actually happened without blocks of something about the meaning of life right smack bang the middle of an intense scene. I love Lauren’s writing, but sometimes (I think it’s all personal taste, though) it got on my nerves in Wither and Fever.

Besides that, I still *shivers* despise Vaughn and let’s just say he gets whatever he deserves and Linden was right in his choices. It was just one roller coaster after another in this, and I was so hooked.
There are a couple of relatively new characters introduced, Reed (the older brother of Vaughn) and also you meet Rowan, Rhine’s brother. I loved Reed. I thought he was such a breath of fresh air to all the stress and depressing moments, and he spoke so forthright, he didn’t beat around the bush, if you know what I mean. He was honest, and told it how things were.
Rowan…well he turned out to be a little sketchy in my view, but then gradually you find new bits about how he thinks and I learned to like him more.

I really don’t know what else to say besides the ending was so….well done. So sweet, but I felt like there could have been so much more. I mean, I didn’t want it to end.
There is a certain scene that happens maybe three quarters way through and I’ll tell you, it took me ages to realise it wasn’t a hoax. It shattered my whole world (not literally) and I felt like I was in the story, experiencing it with the other characters.
I felt Cecily really stepped up her game and despite how young she was, grew stronger and more determined to fight back, to not be such a whiny, clingy little girl. She grew balls! (do excuse the analogy) And I respected and admired her for it, even if she did overreact to a few things, she still didn’t let anyone push her around. Rhine was also speaking her mind more and you would never think she was just 17. Well, I wouldn’t. She is so much more quiet than the others, it’s hard to believe she’s a main character, but I still admired her persistance, and how genuine she was. How she had difficult choices, and no matter the consequences, she stuck by her decisions.
Sorry, I’m rambling.
Anyway, A definite 5 stars to this and I am so very sorry the series is over. It’s always the way, really. The series you wish would end, continue for a long time, but the ones you just start to really get into, end too soon. I wish Lauren the best of luck for her next project. :)

Kat

Leave a Reply

