Review: 4 stars to When it’s Least Expected by Heather Van Fleet

Published May 14, 2013 by katheryn13

Moving on after a tragedy can be impossible – especially when
you’ve been dealing with them for over two years. But it’s her senior year, and Harley Anderson is more than ready to do just that, even though the skeletons in her closet can’t exactly be hidden.

Enter Mason Daniel, the egotistical, sexy, surfer boy from
California – a boy with his own hidden demons, and an even bigger secret agenda.

Mason isn’t right for Harley. He knows this better than anyone.
He’s the epitome of a runner – a guy who takes what he can get,
only to split a short while later. But he can’t deny the emotions that Harley brings out of him, so he’s going to break his rules for once.

He should have known what it would lead to…

Two kindred souls – both lost and then found. Will they fail, once again, in their search for contentment and
happiness, or will they finally find true love, when it’s least expected?

I was dying to read this story. I can’t tell you how long it was in my to-read list. But… I don’t usually have time to read with student teaching and just too much homework on one plate, I put it off. Lucky for me, I was given this book from the author (THANK YOU!) to read and review. I got so excited I stopped other books I was reading and immediately started!

I’ll start off by saying that this was a really good book. I thought it was super cute. It jumped right into the story and got me hooked from the start. You know it’s good when you are reading during your 5:30 MORNING workout and then having to pick up where you left off when you’re eating breakfast at 7. Each chapter left me feeling as if I had to keep going. It was like mini cliffhangers that just ate away at me, forcing me to keep going and keep scrolling. Screw that I had to teach later that day… I had to know what happened with Harley and Mason. That became top priority and I had to rip myself away from my kindle in order to go to school.

Characters. I believe I will start with Harley. This girl is literally selfless. No joke. I don’t think she thinks about herself what so ever! Literally. She wants everyone to be happy and would do anything to make sure of it. She has had not one, but two tragic events in her life. I am almost certain I wouldn’t know how to continue living if those things happened to me.

One just breaks my heart and the other takes those already broken pieces and steps all over them. Yet… she has the strength and motivation from within to keep going. I admire her for that. It shows that you can get through it; it is completely possible. That’s what I love about Harley. She shows true strength and ability to love unconditionally no matter what. She probably is my favorite female, main character, out of the many contemporary romance stories I have read. She just stands out as a strong woman. People shouldn’t have to go through what she did. She fully blames herself. Yet she goes to school, keeps up with school, has friends, and continues to love. It’s incredible. PLUS I adore her and her brother.  They are the most ideal siblings. They are AMAZING. Seriously. It makes me want to call up my brother and just chat and hang; she loves him to the moon and back and he does her. It’s so sweet and so kind and gentle and just makes me go Aw when I think about it. I love Harley: She is silly, sweet, kind, and just full of love that I believe she could explode from it.

Mason. “hashtag” swoon! ;) I like me some Mason. He is most definitely that cocky surfer boy you know you shouldn’t go anywhere near yet you know that’s the one thing you want to do. Please… stay away? Was that even an option? I highly doubt it. Mason is the mystery boy that shows up with all his dark secrets and womanizing ways. “Man-whore”, if I can say that. But he has a heart. His secrets are what I believe makes him a lost soul. Mason has lost who he is and what makes him happy because of his secrets. He needs someone to redirect him back to earth and find himself. Mainly… I think Mason is just lost with women, even though I know he is a womanizer. Mason simply has no clue what to do when Harley walks into his life. Not a freaking clue in the world. It’s like he is trying to read a foreign language without knowing that language first. Poor thing.
But I like Mason. He has spunk, charm, and a deep dark side that’s a tad bit scary and a little bit sexy. Mason is one of a kind in my mind. And the way he loves… my god! Let me tell you! The things he does… will just make your heart melt. Mine sure did. I had to clean it up and come back to reality after that. I was just like AW! He gets it now. He finally found what he was looking for and he knows what to do with it.

 

Overall… I really enjoyed this book. It was a sweet romance between two broken souls who needed to find one another to be complete again. They needed someone to put them back together again to finally start living life. I so believe Mason and Harley were that for each other. I believe they complete one another. They… they… I have no words. It’s just a sweet romance. Not one that is built off of sex or desire… one that is truly built on words, emotion, the soul. It touched me where I don’t think I have been touched before (do not make that into what it is not. IT TOUCHED MY SOUL). I fully ship Mason and Harley.

 

This book gave me a roller coaster ride throughout. I wanted to keep reading and throw the book at the same time. I almost cried and I almost cried again. Happy and sad. Sorrow and pain. Love and emotion. It’s just incredible. Their story is truly beautiful and I would read it over and over again. I hope there is more. After that ending… I would LOVE to know what happens next. The next chapter in their lives will be one you will want to read. Mason and Harley are a story about love on a soulful and meaningful way. They love each other because of how much they complete and mend one another. Two people can truly find love in the dark.
Highly recommend. It’s a contemporary romance you do not want to miss. I promise it will touch your soul and change the way you look at love. It’s for the soul, not the physical presents.

 

Christy Lyn

4 comments on “Review: 4 stars to When it’s Least Expected by Heather Van Fleet

  • Thank you so, so much for this wonderful review. It completely made my day. . . maybe even my month :) I’m so glad you enjoyed Harley and Mason’s story. There will be another book by the way, but next up will be Abigail and David’s story (with a little of Harley and Mason mixed in of course)

  • Wow! That was an amazing review! I’ve been sooo looking forward to reading this, and this review just excited me more! I have goosebumps…GOOSEBUMPS :) It’s the next on my list to read!!!

  • Leave a Reply

    