Review: 4 stars to Fragments (Partials #2) by Dan Wells

Published May 21, 2013 by katheryn13

Kira Walker has found the cure for RM, but the battle for the survival of humans and Partials is just beginning. Kira has left East Meadow in a desperate search for clues to who she is. That the Partials themselves hold the cure for RM in their blood cannot be a coincidence—it must be part of a larger plan, a plan that involves Kira, a plan that could save both races. Her companions are Afa Demoux, an unhinged drifter and former employee of ParaGen, and Samm and Heron, the Partials who betrayed her and saved her life, the only ones who know her secret. But can she trust them?

Meanwhile, back on Long Island, what’s left of humanity is gearing up for war with the Partials, and Marcus knows his only hope is to delay them until Kira returns. But Kira’s journey will take her deep into the overgrown wasteland of postapocalyptic America, and Kira and Marcus both will discover that their greatest enemy may be one they didn’t even know existed.

The second installment in the pulse-pounding Partials saga is the story of the eleventh hour of humanity’s time on Earth, a journey deep into places unknown to discover the means—and even more important, a reason—for our survival.

This was one of those times where the sequel outdoes the first. Fragments was fast paced, action packed, intense, and generally thrilling. People died, people suffered but then you rooted for so many people, some Partials, some humans. I certainly did.
I don’t know what my first impressions of Fragments would have been, but I wasn’t expecting this. I loved it. I found I was reading at a much quicker pace than Partials. Also, I’ll just say, remember in my Partials review of a certain word that continued to pop up and drive me nuts? Well, good news, that word in which I shall not mention, eventually pops up half way through this. I had hoped I’d not see it at all, but oh well. I suppose I should be grateful. There were less irritations this time around, and I hoped Kira would succeed. She’s such a strong, determined female lead and you don’t get many of those anymore, at least, not in the books I read. She rarely whines, she looks out for herself and her friends, and even some strangers she comes across. Afa is one of those. He must be in his mid-late 50’s but he’s so lost inside, so damaged mentally, and still no matter how his tempers/behaviours differ, Kira sticks by him, she helps him cope. It’s so…inspiring. It’s how people should treat people in care homes, you know? Don’t just dismiss them because they’re not as quick witted as they used to be.
However, Afa was a genius. A computer genius.

Then you have Samm. Oh boy. I love him. It was a real journey with him travelling across the country with Kira, and unfortunately Heron, who got on my nerves. But she added conflict and that is what made the endless chapters of struggle worth reading. They didn’t just walk, or ride horses across desert. No, they had wastelands, toxic wastelands. Or the Badlands as others called it. They had large rivers to cross with no bridges. They were literally hanging on for dear life in some scenes, and I just couldn’t stop reading. I hoped, for their sake and my sanity, that they made it. I won’t say what happens because that’s for you to find out, but it really is a whirlwind of torment, drama and adventure. I love the action, with guns and the hint that no one is safe, not really. Anyone could die and it could be your favourite character.

Kira’s personal journey was another one that caused me to stick around. I was just as curious as she was to find out who she actually is. Although I did think sometimes she could be a bit…dim. I can’t really describe it, but I just wanted to slap her and tell her to wake up and figure it out quicker.
Then you have Marcus. He had his own battle to endure, and because you didn’t get to know his every movement like Kira, I worried for him more. Haru, I got irritated with in Partials, grew on me in Fragments and I saw why he acted the way he did. Even if he is an insufferable know it all who loves to argue.

The battles that were happening around Kira’s story were so scary that I feared for nearly everyone. At one point, the Partials are fighting themselves, and it gets so intense I was pretty sure someone important was going to get killed.

I just don’t know how else to say it, besides that I thoroughly enjoyed this. I can’t wait for the next book and to find out how they resolve this…problem. That’s the easiest way to explain it. It’s a problem. A very big problem and Kira will either be the solver or she’ll be the downfall of everything they’ve worked for. Who knows.

My reason for rating it 4stars? Because occasionally I did get confused and sidetracked, and annoyed with some characters. Nothing wrong with the writing, because this time the language and description used was much easier to understand and get into. More dialogue, and character development, which is what I like.

Oh and the ending is a real humdinger!
Love it!

Leave a Reply

