4 stars to Icons by Margaret Stohl

Published May 30, 2013 by katheryn13

Your heart beats only with their permission.

Everything changed on The Day. The day the windows shattered. The day the power stopped. The day Dol′s family dropped dead. The day Earth lost a war it didn′t know it was fighting.

Since then, Dol has lived a simple life in the countryside – safe from the shadow of the Icon and its terrifying power. Hiding from the one truth she can′t avoid.

She′s different. She survived. Why?

When Dol and her best friend, Ro, are captured and taken to the Embassy, off the coast of the sprawling metropolis once known as the City of Angels, they find only more questions. While Ro and fellow hostage Tima rage against their captors, Dol finds herself drawn to Lucas, the Ambassador′s privileged son. But the four teens are more alike than they might think, and the timing of their meeting isn′t a coincidence. It′s a conspiracy.

Within the Icon′s reach, Dol, Ro, Tima, and Lucas discover that their uncontrollable emotions – which they′ve always thought to be their greatest weaknesses – may actually be their greatest strengths.

Bestselling author Margaret Stohl delivers the first book in a heart-pounding series set in a haunting new world where four teens must piece together the mysteries of their pasts – in order to save the future.

 

So I was a little nervous about what the co-author of such a brilliant YA series could bring on her own. I mean, how can you top, or equal, Beautiful Creatures? To me, it’d be hard. So when Margaret Stohl announced Icons, I HAD to read it. And I did. Oh DID I!
At first I found it a little…slow, but sometimes that’s natural. You’re learning about the characters, etc. I had ultimately read the first few chapters online when they were released, so I got an idea if I’d like this. I did. Well, I did and I didn’t.

The only thing I didn’t like so much was that I wasn’t quite so…attached to the characters as I get with most books I like. Other than that, the storyline, plot, dialogue, interaction…all great. I wanted to find out what these people were, what they were made for. Dol was a good character, and I liked that she can read peoples emotions. I had no idea upon starting this, that there would be “powers” involved. I thought it was just a typical dystopian with alien spaceships taking over the world. Boy was I wrong!

There’s more to it than meets the eye, and I think that’s what intrigued me to read more. And more. Until, oh woops, the end. I just… Ro. RO! Poor boy needs a freaking hug! Lucas was great, yeah. Sure. Every hot Ambassador son is gonna be interesting. But RO! Seriously, he’s just…angry all the time, and Dol is the only one who can settle him. And then she goes and does…

No spoilers.

So anyway, the dot thing on their wrists confused me a bit, and other than each having 1, 2, 3, and 4 dots, I still don’t understand it. But hopefully, maybe, that’ll be more explained in the sequel, which I’ve been told is out next Spring. Great. So we have like, another year to go. Woopee. *taps nails with impatience*

I couldn’t tell if there was a love triangle in this, or whether it just…seemed like there was. Because you have Ro, and him and Dol seem pretty close. But it’s hard to get a hold on their…relationship status, as it were. Then other people come into play and I’m left thinking…”what the hell?!” with the drama. Ha. I did find it a little annoying, however, the Dol appeared unconcerned for Ro’s feelings. It was obvious how he felt, yet she was so oblivious…and that got on my nerves. I mean, the dude has been your best friend for years, you connect on another level, and you can’t see how he feels? Wow.
My favourite character has to be the “Merk” Fortis. He was brilliant! Now, I’m not sure if he was supposed to be “British” or if the way of his speak was…i dunno, for fun. But either way, I liked his style. He was fun, quirky, brave, snarky. I mean…Just all around. And what was more, he wasn’t even a main character, he had no main lead, yet he was like…stealing the spotlight. When he was on, I just couldn’t look at the others. I cheered whenever he came on the page. Yes. Cheered. I love the underdogs.
Tima is a nice bit of conflict and the gradual respect she and Dol gain for each other after a while, even if they’re not buddies, is admiring to say the least. I found myself torn between like and dislike for Tima, because she just acted really…annoying? In some parts. Maybe that’s just me.

I need to find out who or what the Icons are. And how they can control everyone. It’s one of those things where…some detail was given, but just enough to keep you wondering and now I’m left both intrigued and confused. But in a good way…I think.

Over all, a nice new series and I’m not usually down with the whole “alien” “beings taking over our world” scenario things, but I seem to be reading a few of them lately. Maybe they’re becoming more popular, but all I can say is you should DEFINITELY check this one out!

 

Kat

Leave a Reply

