5 stars to Fall of Night (Morganville Vampires #14) by Rachel Caine

Published May 30, 2013 by katheryn13

Thanks to its unique combination of human and vampire residents, Morganville, Texas, is a small college town with big-time problems. When student Claire Danvers gets the chance to experience life on the outside, she takes it. But Morganville isn’t the only town with vampire trouble…

Claire never thought she’d leave Morganville, but when she gets accepted into the graduate program at MIT, she can’t pass up the opportunity. Saying good-bye to her friends is bittersweet, especially since things are still raw and unsettled between Claire and her boyfriend, Shane. 

Her new life at MIT is scary and exciting, but Morganville is never really far from Claire’s mind. Enrolled in a special advanced study program with Professor Irene Anderson, a former Morganville native, Claire is able to work on her machine, which is designed to cancel the mental abilities of vampires. 

But when she begins testing her machine on live subjects, things quickly spiral out of control, and Claire starts to wonder whether leaving Morganville was the last mistake she’ll ever make…

This is one of my favourites in the series so far. I can’t believe the series is drawing to a close. I can remember when I first picked up Glass Houses and loved every second of it. I just don’t want it to end, but..sadly, one more book after this. *sobs*

Saying Fall of Night is one of my top favourites isn’t a sleight on the others, however. I loved this a little more because it was refreshing for it not being set in Morganville.

But I found myself wishing Claire WOULD go back at some points, though, and I realised…oh god, this can’t be good foretelling. It was slightly predictable, however, that the outside world that Claire wanted so badly, would turn ugly. I suppose because this is ultimately about Morganville, that it made sense that Morganville would come to her in the end. It’s disturbing how happy to see Myrnin and Oliver I was. Especially when in Morganville, I can’t stand Oliver. But as downright arseholish he might be, he does come through when you need help. Even if it is because other vampires are in trouble, too.
I liked the new characters involved and I hope to see more of Jesse. She was badass and was a breath of fresh air to the usual vampires. There were other characters, too, that just added a little…something, to the book and I’ll be sad to see them go, but you know how it is.

It was a little strange not having Amelie in the picture, but that didn’t stop anyone from mentioning her.
There was so much going on, that I couldn’t stop reading. I mean, some of the others in the series, I’ll admit, have had their slow moments. But in Fall of Night, it was so fast paced; little things happening at once.
I found my liking toward Liz hot and cold, which is pretty much how her behaviour went. One minute she was chirpy, the next down right rude, and I wondered when Claire would get the nerve to say something.   And then when Claire started working for Dr Anderson… my paranoia was kicked up a notch.

I was glad that Claire was left alone for a time, and she got to explore her life without the people she had come to care for. It was…weird, to say the least. Even for a short time.

There were many scary, “OMG NO!” moments. And some for people I didn’t even expect. I found out I care more for the vampires than I’d expected.
Shane as usual is an arse, but his heart is in the right place.
Oh man, I don’t know what else to say without spoiling the whole plot. And we wouldn’t want that.

*Shivers* This book gave me goosebumps. In a good way. And I am so excited for Daylighters.
Just take my word for it. If you are having doubts about continuing with the series. ..STOP! And just Read it.

Oh man, I REALLY enjoyed this. *squeals* Come ON November!

Kat

Leave a Reply

