Author Interview: Heather Van Fleet

Published June 1, 2013 by katheryn13

This, my friends, is the very first time we’ve EVER had the privilage of interviewing an author. I sat staring at this screen for way too long trying to come up with how to introduce this blog post… I am terrible at writing introductions as I’m sure you know if you read the about me section on this blog. “hash-tag epic fail”. Anywho… let’s get this thing rolling with an awkward start! Go me!

I had the amazing opportunity not too long ago to read a really amazing contemporary story called When it’s least expected. It had friendship, dark secrets, and a love that I shipped throughout the whole book. I loved this story. Anywho… not only was I given the chance to read and review the book, I had the chance to have a little interview with the author! I got to learn a little bit more about her, her writing and more ways to stalk her to find out when the next book comes out! :) Enjoy!

So…here goes.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I certainly can! My names Heather and I am addicted to all things books, reading, and writing.

I’m from Northern Illinois, and have been married to my high school sweet heart for over ten years. Or has it been eleven? Anyways, I’m a mommy of three little girls, Kelsey 8, Emma 6, and Isabella (Belly) 3. I’m Starbucks obsessed, I’m an introvert, and I love The Walking Dead.

That about covers it, I think. :)

Why did you choose to write?

I chose to write for many different reasons actually. For one, I really wanted to! I’ve always loved to write – whether it was poetry as a kid, or short children’s books as a teenager. Then when my I quit my job to be a stay at home mom and started reading and reviewing books at a website, I really began to ask myself if this was the right time to pursue my supposed pipe dream of finally getting that novel written. At first I didn’t think I could do it because I have like, no confidence in myself – whatsoever. But then my youngest daughter was born, and I took a step back to look at the whole picture and decided that hey, there really was no better time. . .

Basically, now that it’s all said and done, I just wanted my little ladies to know that it is always possible to achieve your dreams – even at thirty years old.

Phew. . . I talk a lot, huh?

What is the hardest thing about writing?

For me it’s making time to actually sit down and do it. Between my girls, my online blogging jobs, cleaning, laundry, and making sure my family doesn’t starve, I barely have time to think. But I manage it in the end. I stay up really late at night, I forgo the chores for a day or two, and I just do it. Writing is an addiction that I will now never be able to break.

What is the easiest thing about writing?

 Coming up with story ideas! They are constantly popping up in my head, and then I have to stop whatever it is that I’m doing, grab a pencil and paper, and then write these said ideas down before I forget them. I actually have a huge binder full of character bios and plot ideas that I have stories for. It’s huge. Like really, really huge. :)

What books/authors have influenced your writing?

There are several out there that I truly admire, but the main one is Jennifer Armentrout. The moment I read her Lux series . . . oh boy . . . I knew that she had quickly become my writing Idol. She’s absolutely hilarious, and she writes the heck out of her heroes. There are really no words for that woman’s skills. I’ve actually met her – twice now – and I can say for certain that I was definitely fangirling both times I did.

What is your favorite genre for personal reading?

I’m a big young adult fan – whether it’s contemporary, dystopian, or paranormal. If it’s got lots of feels, and sexy bad boys, then I will devour it.

What made you start writing contemporary stories?

Hmm . . . I guess it’s because I like the idea of realism in books more than anything. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some wolves, and futuristic kick-butt girls, but I get the most out of real, gritty, down to earth plotlines.

Where do you get your ideas?

They usually just come to me to tell you the truth. Or sometimes I’ll see a story on the news, or see a picture somewhere and then an idea hits. It’s really random, that’s for sure. I’ve never had to stop to think about a book before actually. And In my opinion, if you have to think too hard,

then it probably might not feel right in the end. But that’s just me. :)

What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why in When It’s Least Expected?

I loved the funeral scene. LOL, I know that doesn’t sound like a good part, but my hero, Mason . . . oh boy did he have me swooning over the things he said during those few pages.

What inspired you to write When It’s Least Expected?

I kept getting this mental image of twins in my head, (a boy and girl) and then it kind of went from there.

Anyone in particular you based Mason or Harley off of?

Mason was the guy I would’ve crushed on in high school. Long shaggy blondish hair, blue eyes, loves to surf – I became a bit obsessed with surfing videos on the YouTube while writing WILE and I saw this one particular guy on there, and that was it – that was my Mason. Harley, on the other hand, was a much more fun version of me in as a seventeen year old – the long brown curly hair, big brown eyes. Harley and I dealt with very similar issues and we have a very similar demeanor. But she has a twin, I don’t.

Will there be more to the Mason and Harley love story?

Heck yeah there will be! But they will become the secondary characters in the next book.

Can you tell us about any upcoming books?

Absolutely! Book two in the Perfect Timing Series is ¾ of the way done. The title for that one is A Long Time Coming. I also have my first YA Paranormal book releasing June 14 Resisting Fate. This is entirely different from When It’s Least Expected actually. It’s got dark, broody wolf shifters in it. And I love dark broody wolf boys by the way.

List 3 books you just recently read and would recommend?

Ghost Hand, by Ripley Patton is a new favorite of mine. It’s a YA paranormal novel that’s way different then a lot of others out there. Also, Blood, She Read by Sara Hubbard is another great paranormal YA I just re-read recently. And I also just finished up Walking Disaster because I had to get into Travis’s head, of course.

List 3 of your favorite movies?

Dirty Dancing, The Notebook, and Sweet Home Alabama. (I’m a sucker for those romance movies if you can’t tell.)

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Yes – write the book that you want to read. And most importantly too, grow a thick skin if you don’t already have one. I am a super sensitive person, and the mean reviewer people out there can really get under my skin and pull me down. I know, I know – I shouldn’t care what people think because everyone has different opinions and likes/dislikes when it comes to their books. But no matter what, they always make me second guess myself. I can only hope that the feeling lessens as time goes on, and that I learn not to care what people think as much.

Where can your readers stalk you?

Stalk away at the links below! And thanks so much for having me on today. I had an amazing time answering these fabulous questions.

Twitter Facebook Goodreads Website

 Where can I find this awesome book, you ask? Well how about checking out:

Amazon and Barnes & Noble  

Many fist bumps and thanks to Heather for taking the time out from writing her next best seller to come and talk to us. We feel so honoured! :D 

2 comments on “Author Interview: Heather Van Fleet

  • Leave a Reply

    