5 stars to Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Published June 20, 2013 by katheryn13

He’s arrogant, domineering, and… To. Die. For.

Hunter is a ruthless killer. And the Department of Defense has him firmly in their grasp, which usually doesn’t chafe too badly because he gets to kill bad guys. Most of the time he enjoys his job. That is, until he’s saddled with something he’s never had to do before: protect a human from his mortal enemy.

Serena Cross didn’t believe her best friend when she claimed to have seen the son of a powerful senator turn into something… unnatural. Who would? But then she witnesses her friend’s murder at the hands of what can only be an alien, thrusting her into a world that will kill to protect their secret.

Hunter stirs Serena’s temper and her lust despite their differences. Soon he’s doing the unthinkable—breaking the rules he’s lived by, going against the government to keep Serena safe. But are the aliens and the government the biggest threats to Serena’s life… or is it Hunter

Review:

Another story within the world of Lux, as we thought. This story actually is on the other side… the Arum side! It’s a very interesting read because as I read previous stories, Arum are the bad guys; but I think I have a new respect so to speak for the Arum now that I read this story. It’s SO good. Seriously.

Guess I should start with the characters. Hunter and Serena. Swooooon!

Reminder. This is a stand-alone book, based off the Lux series. There is even a slight appearance of the famous Daemon in here, though you wouldn’t know it unless you read the series and knew of the event well enough.

Okay, back to Hunter. He is an Arum. Obviously hot and hot and hotter. But he has such a bad attitude for the most part. He is bossy, cocky, and just all over the place. He wants to be nice but he follows his true nature and is an asshole. He is very confusing for me and I didn’t like him at first. He was creeper in my eyes. Too cocky too! He would always make comments like “I know you want me” or something and I’m just like… well that’s only because you’re hot and you can see a person’s emotion based on the vibe?

It’s interesting though because you can clearly see he has a soft spot but he just doesn’t know what to do with it. You learn more about him and you meet his really nasty brother first. Oh, he is a triplet! Three hotties. SWOOON NOW!

BUT the one brother is more of an asshole then he is. Shocking, because Hunter is pretty bad! His other brother… I like him. He wants to be among the humans. He has respect and I feel like he looks at people as equal and it’s refreshing.  Hunter also has a sister. Won’t tell you anything about her, may be spoilers! Anywho… I learned to like Hunter. He grew on me. He learned control, he felt things, he grew as a HUMAN I think.

It was really interesting to read because you could tell that he had no idea what was going on. FEELING things were too “human” for Arum and he truly began to feel emotions and care and become human. It was a beautiful thing. The moment I knew he changed was when he called Serena “mine”. He was shocked himself, he didn’t know why he said it or what he meant by it but we all knew… it was obvious! I loved the way he protected Serena. He was drawn to her for poor reasons and I felt bad about the situation that brought the two together… but when they are together, it’s like HOT electricity! I was fanning myself a few times.

Okay… so I think I just talked a lot about Hunter. Serena! Man I want her as my best friend! She is 20 something I think? It says it in the story I know that. She is counselor, which I like.  She is the best friend I would want. She is calm, very laid back in my mind. But… the way she wants revenge and justice just screams LOYALTY.

That’s the quality you want in a friend. She fights and fights hard! She has to go through some traumatic things and she still fights hard. I mean, she falls for an Arum, learns about aliens, and still wants justice for what happens to her friend. I love her! She is a strong woman. She may be a little… gentle? I’m not sure what word I’m really looking for her… but she seems innocent I guess… that’s a better word! She’s strong, loyal, and committed. Truly what you look for in a main character, I think.

In all, I really really enjoyed this story. I love the Lux series… and this just opened my eyes a little bit about the Arum. Kinda made me not want to hate them so much, but we will have to see. Hunter may have just been an exception. ;) If you like the Luxen, you will like this story. It’s got action, fighting, drama, love, heart break… it’s an emotional roller coaster that you won’t want to get off of. I’m sad it’s a stand-alone actually! The ending was nice… but I felt it had a good cliffhanger that could lead right into another book!! I want more of Hunter, more of Serena!! Fingers crossed for more because they were addicting.

Amazing story. Go read it. You love Lux you will love this Arum, I can promise that! You may even switch sides like me!!

 

-Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

