5 stars to Left Drowning by Jessica Park

Published June 23, 2013 by katheryn13

What does it take to rise from life’s depths, swim against the current, and breathe?

Weighted down by the loss of her parents, Blythe McGuire struggles to keep her head above water as she trudges through her last year at Matthews College. Then a chance meeting sends Blythe crashing into something she doesn’t expect—an undeniable attraction to a dark-haired senior named Chris Shepherd, whose past may be even more complicated than her own. As their relationship deepens, Chris pulls Blythe out of the stupor she’s been in since the night a fire took half her family. She begins to heal, and even, haltingly, to love this guy who helps her find new paths to pleasure and self-discovery. But as Blythe moves into calmer waters, she realizes Chris is the one still strangled by his family’s traumatic history. As dark currents threaten to pull him under, Blythe may be the only person who can keep him from drowning.

*This book is intended for mature audiences due to strong language and sexual content.

Note: due to mature content recommended for Ages 17+

 

This copy is an ARC, therefore may not be available online/in stores in your country as of yet. Release date July 16th 2013.

Review

Holy Moly. I literally do not know where to start with this review.  I started reading this story and I was INSTANTLY sucked in. The characters are astounding.  The story is beautiful. JAM PACKED with emotion. I am not the person to cry when reading. I just don’t. I cry for movies or friends or even when I see other people cry but for some reason… I’ve never truly ACTUALLY cried. I’ve felt I may, or had wanted to; never did. Until now. I cried for these characters, for what they went through, for what they were going through… it was so emotional. And let me tell you, I also really like sleep. A LOT. Usually I don’t have the patience to stay up until 2 AM reading. Well I did this TWO nights in a row with Left Drowning. It was just that emotionally beautifully written that I couldn’t put it down.

 

Okay okay. Let’s begin talking about the actual story. It’s a love story. A tremendously beautiful one. One of two broken souls. Broken souls that fit perfectly not only because of who they are but what they have been through. I have never felt so deeply connected to the characters and the story than I did here. I felt the emotion through the pages. I wanted to jump in and hug people. Like I’m literally sitting here staring at my Word document trying to find the right words in order to explain to you how much I loved this story. I mean Jessica Park had me at Flat Out Love and devoured me with Flat Out Matt next.

I had high expectations here.

Not only did she meet my expectations, but she BLEW me out of the water across the country and gave me a margarita. This story is just raw. Beautiful. Damaging. Full of fate, destiny, joy, sadness, soul, love, sex, tears… I could go on! It’s such an emotional ride that it’s just captivating from the moment you open the book. I was truly inside these characters lives. The love component of this story is so strong too! There is some friendships and school and a lot of amazing running that actually made me go out and buy new work out clothes so I could get into running. But the love in this story stole the show. It’s so intense. It is an instant connection. A powerful one that I wasn’t sure either could handle. As I kept reading I shipped them to the fullest! Always. And then things twisted and things changed and details spilled and I found myself covering my mouth in shock with tears rolling down my face. I could not get over the ending either. I felt in my heart what was coming and my heart melted when it happened. A beautiful way to connect love. A beautiful way to start love as a matter of fact. This love is not only about falling in love but about how love can save you completely.

I don’t think I can even begin to express the feels I have for each and every character in this story. Every single person, I love. There is no way I can even include them here. They are all amazing. You will just need to trust that the story is worth the read because the story is so captivating because of the characters. Truthfully, the characters are wonderful in their own ways. They all have unique qualities that I can picture completely different people and see them all as they are meant to be; unique. 

I am SO SO SO SO SO… SO happy I had the chance to win this ARC. It was already on my to-read list but I was lucky enough to have won it over twitter. (thanks to my twitter addiction!). Left Drowning is one of my absolute favorite stories as of now. It’s just so beautifully written and captivating and engaging and I feel connected to the story in a way and it’s just perfection. I have no words. When this comes out, I highly suggest you buy this book. It is well worth it. Amazing read. If I could give more then 5 stars I would. I am literally speechless. Reviews come easy to me because I get really detailed and what not but here… I was just so sucked in and involved in this story and felt so much of the emotion within that I don’t even know how to describe it in a review for you. It’s amazing. It’s wonderful. Emotionally beautiful. 5 fully drawn and coloured stars. :D

-Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

