4 stars to Goddess (Starcrossed #3) by Josephine Angelini

Published June 24, 2013 by katheryn13

She must rise, or they will fall …Helen’s powers are increasing–and so is the distance between her and her mortal friends. To make matters worse, the Oracle reveals that a dangerous traitor is lurking among them, and all fingers point to Orion. Still unsure whether she loves him or Lucas, Helen is forced to make a terrifying decision, or risk all-out war. The final book in this heart-stopping trilogy.

 

 

Review:

Well, okay so I’ll admit I wasn’t getting into this quickly. Maybe it was my mood. It had been a while since I’d read Dreamless, so the beginning didn’t seem to progress smoothly. I felt like I needed some kind of recap. That didn’t happen, or at least, not quickly enough for me.

Then it hit near the half way point, And I became full committed. I loved it. I know it shouldn’t take that long to get fully into a book, but this is one I stuck by. I wasn’t going to give up. I think my problem was more…me, rather than the story, because I’d  been in my “Reading funk” as I call it, where it takes me three times as long to read a book. Sigh.

Anyway.

The story seemed to progress successfully from then on and I couldn’t stop reading. And then typically, with books that turn out to be the end of a series, I got to the end and didn’t want it to end. That’s just my luck.

The action was believable and the dialogue between the characters was far more with it. I did get annoyed with the changes in Claire’s personality, though. I felt she switched back and forth too easily, influenced by others rather than her own decisions. That’s what it seemed to me, anyway. Matt generally pissed me off. I lost the reason behind him, and how the hell he became the new version of Achilles. I mean…huh? When the hell did that happen? So when things take a turn for the worse, I didn’t feel at all guilty. *tries not to spoil*

I don’t know what it is about him, but I loved Hades. He was so different to other interpretations that he was almost…dare I say it?…Likeable. He’s Hades, for crying out loud. He’s ruler of Hell. He should be the bad guy, the scary one. But no, he turned out to be a pretty stand up guy who had morals and he actually cared. He judged hearts and peoples sins. It was almost an AWWW moment for me. To me, Hades makes the series. I love when he appears in a scene, because…ah I get goosebumps. I’m so weird.

Helen’s memories were interesting, if not a little confusing at times. It took me a while to realise what was going on, so I was glad when Helen herself explained it. Because she’d drunk from the river (name has escaped me) which wiped her memories in Dreamless, she also drank the memories of her past lives. It was all very complex but very detailed. I can’t even begin to imagine how much research went into this.

The ultimate war was intense, and I was hooked. I loved that Helen had all this power, but I did get a bit confused as to why Helen was acting like a 30 something rather than 17 years old. It just seemed a bit odd to me. Still, I wanted the good guys to win, after all. And each twist and turn made it likely for either side to win. Especially when the Gods appeared. My oh my, was that a “HOLY SHIT” moment. It actually made me think of Percy Jackson series (I know, I know. Silly. But they are both Greek related.) because of Poseidon. Yet in that series they’re not all arseholes. haha.

Helen’s revelation about who she really was, was…well mind blowing. All this time we’d thought she was something else, and then the whole deal with Lucas, and oh my god please stop me before I say the whole plot because AHH reviews are so hard.

I’m glad this ended on a somewhat happy note. I don’t usually like epilogues but at least this one didn’t tell us what others did in the future. It was more a “and everything calmed down” thing rather than a “and they all lived happily ever after” thing.

Over all this deserves a 4stars because although it took time to get into it (for me), I thoroughly enjoyed it in the end. And I’m sad to see this series end. I really enjoy Greek mythology. It’ll be interesting to see what Josephine Angelini does next. :)

-Kat

Leave a Reply

