3 stars to Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green

Published July 8, 2013 by katheryn13

One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, teenager Will Grayson crosses paths with…”Will Grayson”! Two teens with the same name who run in two very different circles suddenly find their lives going in new and unexpected directions. Culminating in epic turns-of-heart on both of their parts, they team up to produce the most fabulous musical ever to grace the high-school stage. Told in alternating voices from two award-winning, popular names in young-adult fiction – John Green (author of “The Fault in Our Stars”) and David Levithan (author of “Boy Meets Boy”) – this unique collaborative novel features a double helping of the heart and humour that has won both authors legions of fans

So… I’m not really sure what I want to say about this book. I liked it. It was different. Much different from what I have recently read! Definitely a change for me… but it was SO unique that I kept reading.

It’s basically about two teenage boys, both with their own personal issues, that meet in the most random of spots. Both whom are named Will Grayson.

Each chapter goes back and forth between the two boys. There is a clear difference between the actual text so you can tell who is who.

I like both boys. They are both rather different. One boy is gay and depressed. The other… he has something, but I’m not sure exactly what; he just seems to be shy. He has a very different friend named Tiny, who is gay and rather large and loud and proud and I love him dearly!

Both Will Grayson boys are very different, with their own stories that are very interesting. I like them equally! And I adore the fact that once they meet, their lives come together and everything kind of intertwines. This was a very unique and different story.

Overall… I liked this story. It had a rough start for me. I wasn’t exactly pulled in instantly but I liked the text and the characters enough to keep going. Things finally picked up and became easy to keep going once the boys met. I’d say read it. The characters are unique and different and relatable. Story is good but the characters are so different, I didn’t care what the story was!

Good summer read. It’s worth the read! Unique characters with an added musical.

 

-Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

