5 stars to Point of Retreat (Slammed #2) by Colleen Hoover

Published July 10, 2013 by katheryn13

Hardships and heartache brought them together…now it will tear them apart.

Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.’

 

DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT READ SLAMMED. I MAY SPOIL SLAMMED.

 

So I immediately started reading this after I finished Slammed. Like… minutes after I finished because I couldn’t stop myself. That was yesterday evening… read about 45% during that sitting… read up to 84% that night until about midnight… then finished it up this morning.

I LOVED THIS. It was from Will’s POV, which was really sweet. I loved being inside his head because… well he is Will, that’s why. Seriously… I didn’t think it was possible to enjoy Will more then I already did. Will loves Layken SO much. SO SO much. It’s almost sick but it’s beautiful. She literally has become his whole world. They are the rare kind of true love that few people find. And the way their lives mend together so perfectly is amazing.

There are so many things in this book, it’s insane. First one thing happens, which I get his point and I get her point but damn I was like, you cannot just leave things the way they are. And Will tries so hard to basically… ugh… SORTA SPOILER… win her back. And for me, he says all the right things but honestly, he does get a little out of hand and stalker/creeper like. But then, oh he gets the most amazing advice and does something so beautiful… I cried. I LOVED what he did for Layken and how he got everyone involved and so many emotional components.

And then everything went downhill. I mean it wasn’t even 2 hours later. As soon as they had their beautiful moment and Will did all those wonderful things for Layken… shit exploded. I could NOT believe what happened. I cried. I could not stop reading. My jaw dropped. I chewed my nails. I was nervous and sad and scared. The most emotion I have ever felt when reading a book… minus in Slammed when THAT happened.

I have to stop my review here or else I will give away the ending. The ending was…there are no words. I’m not even sure how there is a next book after that perfect ending. I’m hoping since it was so perfect, the next book is just pure perfection because literally… I don’t want anything to ruin that ending.

I LOVE Will and I LOVE Layken. I love the boys… their friends… the neighbors… it’s all just… ahhh  I really really really enjoy reading this. It may have to be a top favorite. It’s a really good story that is heart warming story of love literally conquering ALL. You know the backstory from Slammed. They go through way more. Much more traumatic. Their love is just so strong and… no words. Go read this series!

-Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

