4.5 stars to Frigid by J. Lynn

Published July 27, 2013 by katheryn13

For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn’t anything new. They’d been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the ‘man’ in man-whore. He’s never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn’t want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she’s perfect and she’s everything. But the feelings he has for her, he’s always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they’re stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor’easter, there’s nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.

 

REVIEW:

First off, I really liked this book. I hadn’t expected I would but damn if I didn’t read it in ONE day.

I started it while I was exercising, got about 30% in. Stopped, showered, ate, then immediately had to pick that book up and keep going. Stayed up until 2 AM because I simply was not about to walk away from this. THIS is an adorable love story.

I’ll start with the downfalls just to kind of get them out there so you are aware. It’s typical. Shy girl and a man-whore. Thrown together by “accident” (yes it was by a real reason but it was like… I saw it coming, basically.)  Things just… happen. I was like, really? I also got annoyed with Sydney. I get it, your best friend is a man hoe. Certainly it is frustrating but COME ON. Some moments I was like… really?! HE SHARED HIS SOUL (sort of) AND YOU THINK THIS NOW?! No. That is not okay. Not at all. Just saying. That’s why I took away half a star.

Now… I did seriously like this book. Although it was typical, it had a twist and it kept me intrigued and I was hooked. I also really liked where it was based. They said city names and I knew where they were because I was like OMG I AM NEAR THERE! HOLY CRAP! I felt a special connection.

This is a story about Kyler and Sydney. Syd is a sweet, rather shy nice girl. She doesn’t mess around with guys, doesn’t party too much, she’s just… nice. Kyler, aka her best friend since forever, is a hoe. He plays with women (sort of in a respectable way… kinda?) and parties and is so very carefree in my mind. Unlikely friends, but they always say opposites attract. (hint hint there…) so, Kyler always has an annual trip to his ski house. Well… when a snow storm hits, all the friends bail as Kyler and Syd are already there! They are alone in the ski house for the trip. Not only does the storm get worse… there is a nice added twist of someone literally stalking them and ruining the trip in ways you would not believe. That is the plot to this love story.

It’s intense. It gets awkward. It gets heartbreaking. It gets touching. It’s overall a great love story of teenage friends literally finding love in places neither expected, even though they were right in front of each other. Syd didn’t think Kyler would ever like her. Kyler thought Syd deserved better. He kept her on a pedestal just a few steps too high for him. He literally respected her so much. THAT was probably the most beautiful part. He protected her in ways any best friend would and more… well because… hint hint. Syd has loved him from afar forever. You learn that right from the start. It’s as if neither of them can feel the obvious tension I could feel from just reading. The way he got jealous and respected her and held her and just… it was like HOW ARE YOU NOT TOGETHER. SERIOUSLY? That’s how I felt.

But… reading this story was sweet. I liked how they were able to come together. It was so emotional and filled with such love and expression that I just was like damn… I could not get over how well they just sort of molded together. And the things they went through on this trip. MY GOD! You will have to read it. I would be freaked the hell out. Seriously though.

Kyler and Syd are so adorable. They way they treated each other, unbelievable. So affectionate and loving and I just love them okay? I’m rambling. Read the story, it’s well worth it!  You will never look at ski trips the same. Just saying.

Christy Lyn 

Leave a Reply

