4 stars to Resisting Fate by Heather Van Fleet

Published July 27, 2013 by katheryn13

Seventeen-year-old Emmy O’Connell is the epitome of a hot mess.

Her boyfriend’s been shipped out of town to some boarding school four states away. Her step douche is constantly drunk and badgering her. And then there’s her good-ole-mom… The lady is nothing more than a miserable shell of a woman. She’s turned off all of her feelings and her ability to be a good mother as well, leaving poor Emmy and her four year old brother Jamie to suffer. Life couldn’t get much worse, right?

Enter the elusive, cocky, and oh-so-broody Jack Hartman…

The jerk cousin of her boyfriend becomes Emmy’s worst nightmare…times ten. He’s cruel. He’s insensitive. But he also has this strange little ability over her – he makes her weak in the knees with the single touch of his hand. But no matter how miserable or amazing Jack makes her feel, Emmy can’t seem to deny him, especially when he takes on the role of her protector –her pseudo-knight in a black leather coat. A knight who also just so happens to ride in on his black Harley, instead of a white horse…

And to make a bad situation worse…

Werewolves and teens shouldn’t mix! But what can Emmy do when she finds herself thrown head first into the center of it all? Can she handle the supernatural mess her life rapidly becomes or will she fight against the inevitable fate her heart desires?

 

Review:

I was given the opportunity to read this story and I am so glad I took it! I ended up loving it! Devoured it in a day. Began freaking out seeing my kindle say I was at 98% and my happy ending hadn’t happened yet. I was left with a cliffhanger. Slowly dying, quite literally.

First off, I am going to be really honest. I wasn’t so sure about this. I felt rather confused at the beginning. For the first chapter or two I was like “what is actually going on?”. I didn’t understand what I had read. I had to read the first chapter twice actually. I think the first time, I just wasn’t fully paying attention. Once I grasped what was happening… I loved it! And I usually am not too too fond of wolves. Believe me, I like them. But the story has got to be GOOD, otherwise, I’m like send me some vamps or witches or something else.

Resisting Fate did JUST what I needed a wolf book to do. It added mystery, emotion, a “mating” aspect which made things so twisted and fantastic!! AH! Literally… this book was exactly what I needed in order to come back into my paranormal need reads.

This book is about a girl. She dated a boy. The boy left. In walks that ex’s cousin; mister bad boy who had a reputation, a dark secret, and to the looks of it, hated Emmy. Now, this boy was swoon worthy. *fans self*. I think he is pretty great actually. Mean, sweet, honest, compassionate, protective, bad, badder, and baddest.

As much as I want to sit here and tell you about the book, I fear I will give away all the amazing aspects! Something happened between the cousins, that’s a key point here. Something is very special about Emmy and Jack (the bad boy). There is something very important about Emmy’s past and Jack’s past. There were just so many twists thrown in… but they went together well! It flowed, it kept it interesting, kept me on edge, wanting more. I was left NEEDING Jack. The ending was FABULOUS. I hated it, it was that good and such a good cliffhanger! I was like… WHAT?! I even had to tweet Heather. I needed to know when the next came out. I immediately went into Jack withdraw!

My favorite thing about this book is the “mating” component and Jack.  I enjoyed the characters overall. Sometimes I was like REALLY EMMY? I mean, seriously though? She got annoying but with what she went through, I get it, it’s understandable.

Jack… swoon. That’s all I’m going to say. Where is my man with a motorcycle and the desire behind blue eyes? Where can I order that? Can I place a deposit down? I need my own Jack.

And jeez… the mating thing! Literally. It just makes the book! For me, I was like so torn at points for Emmy but I always knew which side I picked.

I really enjoyed reading this book. I loved the plot, I loved Jack, I loved the cliffhanger. I highly recommend reading this book! Wolf fans, you will be pleased, I swear it!  Enjoy my friends!! Devour this as much as I did!

Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

