4 stars to This Girl (Slammed #3) by Colleen Hoover

Published July 28, 2013 by katheryn13

There are two sides to every love story. Now hear Will’s.

Colleen Hoover’s New York Times bestselling Slammed series has brought countless readers to their knees with a whirlwind of love, passion, and heartache. 

Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.

In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from his point of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

Review:

Let me start off by saying that this review will contain spoilers!! If you have not read any of the Slammed series, PLEASE do not read this review. You have been warned.

Okay. Let me officially start. I had to give this last book 3.5 stars overall (despite the title of this post. It was just hard to choose.) because it is simply Slammed from Will’s point of view with a little mix of their honeymoon. It was sweet seeing his point of view for all the things from the first book, but I felt it wasn’t exactly needed. I would have liked to have seen their married life or something. I already understood how much Will loved Layken from Point of Retreat. Just felt like I was reading something again with just a boys emotion instead. It’s hard to explain… I felt I was reading it again but because I had read Will’s POV before, it made it feel even more repetitive. Believe me, it’s worth the read because it is cute and the little honeymoon scenes are adorable, so if you read the first two, pick this one up.

Now… I must give the epilogue 4 stars. I will NOT spoil that but that part was so sweet. THAT’S what I wished this book would be. I would have rather read more into their lives… how did the marriage go, what happened to the boys, how did school go, which house did they move into… that’s what I had wanted. I didn’t get that in the story but the epilogue gave me a little something special that I was looking for. I was really happen that that’s the way it ended. Sadly, when I read that… I wanted more! But, that’s typical of the last book in the series.

There isn’t much more I can say… I love Will still. I love Layken still. Overall, it was cute. It’s worth the read if you have already read the first two. It gives you a different perspective on Slammed. I gained a new love for Will and a new frustration for why he couldn’t have just kept their love a freaking secret. But, that’s just me. I love that Will and Layken were so amazing throughout this series. They both endured things no one should have to and I’m glad to see them have each other for love and support. Truly a power couple without a motorcycle and tattoos. Though… Will being a teacher… with tattoos… now THAT… *dirty thoughts*

I’ll end that here… Keep reading if you love Will! <3

-Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

