5 stars to Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Published July 28, 2013 by katheryn13

How much is too much to love?

Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.

In Walking Disaster, the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. Just when he thought he was invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.

Every story has two sides. In Jamie McGuire’s New York Times bestseller Beautiful Disaster Abby had her say. Now it’s time to see the story through Travis’s eyes.

Review:

So as I was going through what books I needed to review, I had some that I was like WHATTTTT. No review? That’s not okay. Walking Disaster is one.

I literally am obsessed. I LOVED, like literally LOVED Beautiful Disaster. Everything about it. That book is what started my Kindle addiction, my contemporary addiction, it just literally changed everything. It was one of those books for me. Some may not agree, and that’s okay but it has a special place in my heart. So when I knew there was going to be another… I preordered that and started it that night. Didn’t matter that I had school the next day. I needed my Travis fix. I was so addicted before that I would literally re-read scenes from Beautiful Disaster because I missed Travis.

I will be honest here. You didn’t like Beautiful Disaster? Don’t read this. Didn’t care for Travis? Don’t read this. I honestly, and this is MY opinion, think that Walking Disaster is for fans of the book and fans of Travis. Travis was a lot to handle through Abby’s eyes. He was intense, hardcore, emotional, sometimes I felt he was even pathetic and too protective and like, possessive in a way. Which are qualities I loved about him. He wasn’t one that knew how to handle emotion. Love? That was the most confusing emotion for Travis. He was literally crazy because he didn’t understand how he felt nor know what to do with these feelings.

Walking Disaster literally makes you understand Travis. Yes, he is crazy. He is emotional. He is protective. He is still possessive. It’s literally heightened because it’s from his POV. This is not going to make him look less crazy. If anything, it made it worse. But I LOVE Travis. His story is touching… he, to me, is misunderstood. But the way he loves is intense, but he loves with everything he has. If you could describe a person who loves too much and gives too much because they are just so in love, that’s Travis. He LOVES Abby. And I think it’s an overwhelming emotion for him. He does not know what the hell is going on in his head. It’s confusing to love a girl.

Travis Maddox, to me,  is perfection. He has intense qualities but maybe I’m weird because I like it all. First off, we all know he is hot. He has tattoos. He has a motorcycle. He knows how to fight and wins, a lot. But he has a gentle heart that could shatter in a moments notice. It’s that badass teddy bear you bought, dressed him in leather, but still cuddle with at night because you know under that leather jacket is a really soft fuzzy fur filled with cotton.

I really don’t have much to say about Walking Disaster. It’s meant for people who love Travis. I love Travis. No matter the physiological issues he has or people may say he has. Travis changed my reading life for the better. I LOVE Walking Disaster. I LOVE Travis Maddox.

-Christy Lyn

One comment on “5 stars to Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

  • This is an awesome review! I love how heavy he feels at so many points. I know that this, as well as Beautiful Disaster, are some of my go to books when I just need some heavy emotions. I can understand why not everyone likes these books but they are great to me.

  • Leave a Reply

    