5 stars to Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover

Published July 30, 2013 by katheryn13

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.

REVIEW:

NOTE: DO NOT READ UNLESS YOU HAVE READ HOPELESS. I include spoilers.

Okay. Losing Hope is Hopeless from Dean/Holder’s POV. It’s the same story from different eyes. I seriously will tell you if you loved Hopeless, you will love Losing Hope. Loved Holder? You’re going to fall in love all over again. I did.

I already loved Hopeless. I was actually nervous when I saw that this book was actually Hopeless from Holder’s POV. I wasn’t sure… I loved Hopeless so much that I wasn’t sure if another POV could do it justice. I was wrong. So wrong. On so many levels. Not just “am I getting the same ole story” no. You are NOT. You get so much more…

Holder was amazing in Hopeless. His heart, strength, hope, love, patience, just everything about him made him just absolutely perfect in Hopeless. Losing Hope made my heart ache for him even more. You get a look at things that you would have never known from reading Hopeless.  Without giving too much away… you get to see what Holder went through with his sister… his family… and the emotional struggle he went though when meeting Sky. All things included.

I loved reading things from his side. I remember hating him for storming off in the café at school when he saw Sky’s bracelet. I was like, why would you do that?! But seeing what Holder was going through… I understood. I feel as though I gained a new respect for him here. Many times I was like “wow what an ass… who does that?” it’s not until the end of Hopeless do you think you understand Holder. I thought I understood him too. Not until I finished Losing Hope.

Holder is heartbreakingly beautiful. What he went through, no brother should have to do. As an older sister… the idea of my brother… I literally do not know if I could function. But I mean on top of that, he already had the guilt of Hope. I don’t know how he stood so tall… how he was able to live day after day. But… I guess it was that he always had Hope. The moment he met Sky, his whole world changed. Not for the fact of “Hope” but he fell in love. Not with that she could have been or what she was but for who she was no matter what (if that even makes ANY sense…) he loved HER no matter what her past held and she the same. Their love is just simply beautiful…

*SPOILER: And I mean come on… Holder freaking loved her since they were little kids. He knew her for SO long. Lost her for SO long. Found her. And fell in love ALL over again* 

Overall… I LOVED Losing Hope. It was amazing, I got to relive Hopeless in a whole new light. I got to gain a new respect and love for Holder and I loved every second of this book. PLEASE read it if you loved Hopeless. You will not regret it. Holder will thank you for it ;)

-Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

