4.5 stars to Tale of Two Centuries by Rachel Harris

Published August 4, 2013 by katheryn13

Alessandra D’Angeli is in need of an adventure. Tired of her sixteenth-century life in Italy and homesick for her time-traveling cousin, Cat, who visited her for a magical week and dazzled her with tales of the future, Alessandra is lost. Until the stars hear her plea.

One mystical spell later, Alessandra appears on Cat’s Beverly Hills doorstep five hundred years in the future. Surrounded by confusing gadgets, scary transportation, and scandalous clothing, Less is hesitant to live the life of a twenty-first century teen…until she meets the infuriating—and infuriatingly handsome—surfer Austin Michaels. Austin challenges everything she believes in…and introduces her to a world filled with possibility.

With the clock ticking, Less knows she must live every moment of her modern life while she still can. But how will she return to the drab life of her past when the future is what holds everything she’s come to love?

 

Review:

Right..well, where the hell do I start? I should probably start with why I cut off half a star. No, I’m not trying to be mean. Because as you will find out shortly, I ADORED this book.

My reasoning behind 4.5 is pretty much this:

There was only maybe a one teensieweensie thing that bugged me, and even this was, basically, me nitpicking. The fact that the first person narrating went from the way Alessandra was in the 16th century, and over the course of 2 very short weeks, turned into…well…normal 21st language, with just a few oldyworldly thrown in now and then. Don’t get me wrong, I get this was all progression, but I just thought the continuity was a little fast. But anyway, that’s the silly bit out of the way. Now, with much  enthusiasm, I let out my inner fangirl:

What I LOVED about this story:

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH AUSTIN ALESSANDRA CAT LUCAS FREAKING LOVE FREAKING TIME TRAVEL REYNA YOU CHEEKY DEVIL AND OMG REID.

Okay, is that enough reason why you should read this? No?

So from the moment I turned the first page, I knew what I was getting into. I adored My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century, and I was already in love with Cat’s personality and instantly I missed Lorenzo. I was worried, I guess, that I wouldn’t like Less’s “voice” as much, and truth be told it took a while to get used to. It wasn’t really the way she spoke, but you know sometimes voices don’t hook as well as others.

Needless to say she grew on me, and I loved the way she could give back what she was given just as hard and with class! I mean, I couldn’t imagine being pinched on the butt then trying to cause a smack down while talking like a…well like a 16th century lady. Lemme just say: LOL. Alessandra’s attempt at Shakespeare…wow I wish I could have been there. Her handle on theatre made me jealous. She went from being this timid girl, to someone who I admire; strong, confident, willing to stand up for what she believes in.

Anyway, Austin. What can I say about Austin? Hmm. The second he was introduced, I was like “Yep. He’s mine.” haha. I can’t help it. Arrogant gits appeal to me and it must certainly be saying something about my sanity. He wasn’t just one layered, though. Oh, no. You find out his past, and why he acts the way he does, and trust me when I say his story is kinda heartbreaking. I instantly felt sorry for him, but then he’d act all…well his usual self, and that feeling would go away. He did act a bit of a prat near the end, and I wondered why he was being so manipulative, and then he turned it all around. I hate it when fictional boys do that. They reel you in, throw you away and then they’re all “oops didn’t mean to” lol

His and Less’s connection was instantaneous, for sure, and I found myself wrapped up in their moments, wishing upon a star that something would happen. It took time…and I won’t spoil, but when sparks do eventually fly, boy they are a sight… err, read, to behold. I had to fan myself a few times. Along with giggling, screaming, slapping my legs until red hand marks appeared (no lie) and  laughing so loud at moments that I was so grateful my mother has gone away for a few days. And that the neighbours don’t care. lol.

Cat was as charming as ever, although not as involved as I’d have liked…and when she was I swear her personality took a 180. She became quiet, secretive and a little annoying when it came to her feelings about Less and Austin. I mean, jeez. Her and Lucas’s relationship was so hot and cold, I didn’t know what to feel. In the end I was glad for Less’s meddling.

Really, though, there isn’t much to not love about this book. The writing is fantastic, and truthfully I think I have some kind of fetish for old world speak. It always seems to make a story more…bouncy? No, that’s not the right word. Anyway, Without giving too much away (if I haven’t already, that is) I can’t say much more.

Really, you could get the gist of my feelings just by reading my twitter updates, as Rachel Harris has already witnessed. Truthfully there were some “Hi-larious” moments. (Especially one with a certain Lyric involved. *winkwink*) and I’m just saying, the kissing scenes are HOTT! Extra T needed for Totally. Also, who goes in the ocean when they can’t swim? Oh…wait…

Gah…how long is this review? I could praise this for days, but for now I have book hangover 2.0 and I need a breather. So if you haven’t already, go add this to your list of books you need to read before…well… Oh, READ IT, YOU REALLY HAVE NO EXCUSE!

-Kat

 

Leave a Reply

