3.5 stars to The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

Published August 5, 2013 by katheryn13

Dying of a broken heart is just the beginning…. Welcome to forever.

BRIE’S LIFE ENDS AT SIXTEEN: Her boyfriend tells her he doesn’t love her, and the news breaks her heart—literally.

But now that she’s D&G (dead and gone), Brie is about to discover that love is way more complicated than she ever imagined. Back in Half Moon Bay, her family has begun to unravel. Her best friend has been keeping a secret about Jacob, the boy she loved and lost—and the truth behind his shattering betrayal. And then there’s Patrick, Brie’s mysterious new guide and resident Lost Soul . . . who just might hold the key to her forever after.

With Patrick’s help, Brie will have to pass through the five stages of grief before she’s ready to move on. But how do you begin again, when your heart is still in pieces?

Review:

Okay so I may need a moment. I’m trying not to cry. *deep breath* I don’t usually review books lower than 4stars, but this one needed to be done.

I’ll give you the low down: So initially the first quarter of this book was good, off to a swell start…I was getting into it.

But I have to say I found the middle section very irritating. Brie was whiny, a typical 15/16yr old who thinks she’s the only one to ever get her heart broken. She doesn’t listen to anyone. Is selfish. And won’t see what she has right in front of her. Until it’s almost too late.

Can we just take a moment to realise that this whole book is based in one of my favourite cities EVER! S A N  F R A N C I S C O!! I was like “I know that place…I know that street…I know that …omg” I don’t live in America, but when I visited San Fran (Yeah, I’m hip, I know the nickname :P) the last 3 times, I adored the area, the general laid back city. And I loved reliving this beautiful place in this book.

But then… then the last quarter was…SO good. And alas I have tears in my eyes. The ending was so well done, so bittersweet, so sad.

I mean…books about death and love and afterlife usually don’t sit well with me because I am one of those “death denial” people, but this one was…sweet. There was a moral to this story, I think. If my brain can get past the initial shock and sadness of it all.  Aside from the middle part, the rest was great. And annoyingly enough at certain scenes, my ipod would play weirdly appropriate songs and I’d get sucked into the book even more. Especially when Brie realised how much of a selfish little brat she’d been and how she’d treated Patrick.

And that brings me onto my next part:

Patrick.

Wow.

My heart (and soul) goes out to him. How he put up with Brie, I will never know. He tried to tell her to move on (and I may have shouted at the book about her doing the same thing a few times) and yet she just wouldn’t listen. I guess the point was that she had to learn  her lessons on her own, at her own annoying pace and time. But this is essentially why I rate this a 3.5 because Brie pissed me off for a lot of the time, but she eventually came through. I say eventually. She sure took her sweet ass time. I fell in love with Patrick straight away, and knew right away his feelings for Brie. It was SO blindingly obvious. But I guess because Brie was so stuck in her mind of revenge, of justice, of getting her own back on the ones she felt had betrayed her, and thinking this was how she could move on, she just didn’t see it. And then when she did, she acted like a complete child and told him where to go. Why? WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT?! I love Patrick. I was like “Well if you don’t want him, I’ll have him!” After we found out what Patrick’s personal history was, I wanted to hug him. He’d been through so much; all of them had, and this just..broke my heart.

I’m so glad things turned out well, but I’d liked to have known what happened to Patrick, if the same thing happened to him or what…I mean WHAT HAPPENED?! I think by this point my eyes were welling up. So badly. It’s raining outside….so the skies clearly know my feelings better than I do myself. I was so pleased when Brie got over her high horse and basically…understood herself, understood what she should do. She “grew up” if you can even do that in the afterlife. But she did.  And wow there really is a hidden story within Brie, there’s MAJOR history. Catastrophic history. :P

Now.. the whole deal with Jacob was rather sad and I’m glad it all worked out in the end. The matter with him was such a sensitive subject to many people. There is a lesson in there. Listen! It doesn’t take much effort to listen to someone who is struggling with inner demons. Even if that person hides it well, you should look for signs.
Just like with Larkin’s story, she had problems, and no one noticed. No one even guessed. And wow, she scared the heck out of me.
Basically I would recommend this book to people. I don’t think it’s to everyone’s taste, but I say you should definitely check it out. Go now…go read it.

Because I love Patrick so much, I gotta give his side of the story a  grand 4 star.

-Kat

Leave a Reply

