4.5 stars to The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Published August 10, 2013 by katheryn13

In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them. The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked–and given the ultimate choice. Die…or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend–a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn’t easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what–and who–is worth dying for.

 

Review:

It’s been a few years since I’ve read an exciting, action packed, gritty vampire novel. And this one certainly fits the bill. Allison Sekemoto is strong, vicious in her own right, confident and down right stubborn, but one other thing she has is: loyalty.

Having lived most of her life as an Unregistered, she’s had to live carefully; scrounging for food wherever she could, and learning not to trust anyone. No matter how friendly they are. But then she gets Turned and basically, all that goes to shit. She is determined not to become a monster, not to let the Vampire in her take over, and making friends with Humans isn’t really a clever idea…is it?

I loved how the details were gritty in their gruesomeness, and I’ve found in some YA books the author just floats around it, but no, Julie Kagawa doesn’t hold back. Although, it’s not completely disgusting, I did cringe a few times. The fighting scenes are intense and down right frightening sometimes. The characters spoke for themselves; they all had their own identities, and didn’t just go with the flow. Jeb stood out as an ass, to me, but at the same time I could understand his morals and what he stood for.

Then you have Zeke…and man, he is one tough cookie. He’s had to put up with torture from Jeb who stood as a father figure to him, and has had so many rules drilled into him, that in a way, he didn’t know who he was. But then he figures it out, and I loved how strong he was. He didn’t back down and he went with his gut. His feelings for Allison were sweet, but deadly and it had me biting my nails wondering what trouble he’d find himself in. Not to mention panicking that something bad would happen to Allie.

Each character stood out to me, and there’s not one that I think wasn’t important in one way or another. Even Stick, who turned out to be a sneaky git with no balls (excuse my language.) Individual characters are good. Just saying.

I would have given this 5 stars if not for the fact a few heavy passages of detail when they were travelling kind of had me blinking slowly and taking lots of breaks. But that’s me, and in a way, good detail helps me picture it like a movie in my over active imagination. =p

I urge you all to read this. It is not your average, typical vampire book. Trust me, I know. I’ve read the Twilight series. And as much as I loved that, this is like…the opposite end of the scale. There’s no cringing away from realism when it comes to Allison’s life. It actually made me sad at times.  I’d actually put off reading this for a while because I didn’t know what to expect, but I’m so glad I read it now. It has pretty much everything you could need. Horror, Romance, Action, even a little bit of humour.

I hope there’s a sequel soon, because wow what an ending.

Go read this, since there’s nothing much else I can say without spoiling. Just….please? Go.

Kat

Leave a Reply

