3.5 stars to Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye

Published August 11, 2013 by katheryn13

Two strangers…

Makenna James thinks her day can’t get any worse, until she finds herself stranded in a pitch-black elevator with a complete stranger. Distracted by a phone call, the pin-striped accountant catches only a glimpse of a dragon tattoo on his hand before the lights go out.

Four hours…

Caden Grayson is amused when a harried redhead dashes into his elevator fumbling her bags and cell phone. His amusement turns to panic when the power fails. Despite his piercings, tats, and vicious scar, he’s terrified of the dark and confined spaces. Now, he’s trapped in his own worst nightmare.

One pitch-black elevator…

To fight fear, they must reach out and open up. With no preconceived notions based on looks to hold them back, they discover just how much they have in common. In the warming darkness, attraction grows and sparks fly, but will they feel the same when the lights come back on?

Review:

Hearts in Darkness. I have been dying to read this book for awhile now. The cover is just so sexy that I was like, how have I not read it yet?! I finally did! And literally… it took me from about… 9:45 in the morning until about noon. I devoured this book in a matter of a few hours I had to kill. I didn’t want to put the book down! It was really good! And it’s different and interesting and rather unique in my mind.

Meet Makenna and Caden. Makenna is a young woman about 25, working as an accountant of forensic. A rather smart, intelligent girl. A gorgeous red head at that, too. Caden; paramedic, 28, and FINE AS ALL GET OUT; tattoos, piercings, tall, buff. Yummy. These are your characters.

The plot? They are in an elevator. Going down, leaving for the day. No, they do not know each other, AT ALL. No, Makenna doesn’t even get a glimpse of Caden. Caden got a sneak peak as he held the elevator door for her as she came frantically in trying to manage her bags and her phone. Going down? Not quite yet. The elevator STOPS. LIGHTS OUT. It’s pitch BLACK. They are literally stuck. So, what is the most logical thing to do? They talk. For 4 hours. They talk about a lot of things. They truly get to know each other on a different level because they are basing their knowledge of one another off of who they are on the inside because they can’t see the outside.

I will start off with this. This short novella is rather interesting and it’s different. I like the concept because it is actually something that could happen. Getting stuck in an elevator? That may be my worst nightmare. Claustrophobic and slightly scared of the dark? Not a good place for ME to be. Nor Caden actually… but you will learn about him when you start reading! It’s just such a different concept for a story that I really enjoyed that.

On the other hand… how things end up happening… I was like, really? It’s only been a couple of hours and that happened? And now this… what? Really? Why? I mean I get why, and I probably would have done the same because of the heightened emotion, but still. Some components were slightly unbelievable.

In the end, it was really sweet. I won’t give it away, but I liked the ending. I felt it completed the novella well and I was happy with what happened.

Overall, it’s a good story. Interesting, different, sort of realistic in certain components. I just really loved watching the characters get to know each other on a verbal connection. It wasn’t because they thought the other was hot or whatever. They talked, they shared, they felt compassion. It was refreshing to see that.

Like the tattooed boys? It’s worth the read for Caden. I need me one of those!!  Definitely a good short summer read! Sexy, unique, and short. Go Caden! And Makenna as well ;)

 

-Christy Lyn

Leave a Reply

