5 stars to Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Published August 20, 2013 by katheryn13

Saba has spent her whole life in Silverlake, a dried-up wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms. The Wrecker civilization has long been destroyed, leaving only landfills for Saba and her family to scavenge from. That’s fine by her, as long as her beloved twin brother Lugh is around. But when four cloaked horsemen capture Lugh, Saba’s world is shattered, and she embarks on a quest to get him back.

Suddenly thrown into the lawless, ugly reality of the outside world, Saba discovers she is a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. Teamed up with a handsome daredevil named Jack and a gang of girl revolutionaries called the Free Hawks, Saba’s unrelenting search for Lugh stages a showdown that will change the course of her own civilization.

Review:

Well I’ll be damned!

I had tried to read this book months ago, but the writing style put me off and so I left it. Then one day I saw it on offer and thought, oh hell why not? So I bought it, and a month or so later, within 2 days I’d read it and now here I am writing this review and singing praises.
I know there’s been a lot of discussions on reviews about the grammar and general way it’s written, but it’s like with a lot of books, some things work better than others, and not everyone is going to agree with those things.
This, as it happens, is one of those books that will either gel well or not gel at all, if you understand me. Some of the words are done phonetically, and then there’s words that are just written how maybe….someone with not much education may write. It’s kinda hard to explain unless you read it, but it just…works.  I LOOOOOOOOVED IT.

In the story, the world has changed so much from our times and they have no real schools, they don’t have the way of living we have, or had, in their case. There are endless deserts and food is scarce, and they have this bastard of a King who rules over pretty much everything. There is only one land that exists. So from Saba’s point of view, the way they talk is normal.
You get an idea of how things have changed when she and Emmi come across the Pinches, and they speak properly, and she questions them. They learnt to read and write from their parents.

This is more than just a dystopian, though. There’s every possible angle you could ask for: Humour, Romance (I’ll get to that later), action, drama.

Now, Sabi is one of those characters whom you could well grow to hate. She’s fiesty, stubborn as hell, strong, basically the opposite to some heroines in novels these days, in a way that, she will NOT let anyone help her or get close to her. When her twin brother, Lugh, is taken by the Tonton (guards for the King), she makes it her only mission to go and rescue him. It’s one battle after the other and her only thought is that she must find him. He’s her twin.

And throughout the book, she does grow and learn that she can’t possibly do everything alone.
Now this is maybe where it gets spoilery, so beware.
Saba and Emmi are tricked by the Pinches, and while Emmi (her younger sister) ends up trapped as a slave, Saba is used as a cage fighter. A bit like a prison, really. And this, my friends, is where we meet the ever so delightful JACK! My baby Jack oh my god, can I just fawn over him because my gawd he be scorchin’ hot! That grin, that wink, those eyes, that sarcastic charm.  I could eat him UP!

*clears throat*

As I was saying, we meet him, and soon Saba and Jack become…close, when she saves his life. Now, I got confused, because the back cover of the book says HE saves her life. Um…no. Well, okay, he does, but that’s later on. So it might be a little misleading.

From the moment he becomes involved in  Saba’s hunt to find her brother, with Hawk Warriors helping along (those girls can sure kick ass!) there is ENDLESS tension between them. And by tension I mean SEXUAL. It gets beyond ridiculous. If someone had told me there was romance in this book, hell I’d have read it sooner. But these two…she’s stubborn and won’t let him get close, and he’s relentless (not to mention sexy and just plain adorable) and so I was like “DAMMIT YOU TWO!”

Anyway, there is so much action and the plot flows nicely together that I really didn’t want to put it down. But you know, food and bathroom calls. *sigh* It did help that there weren’t real “chapters”. There were short scenes, separated by pictures of a crow. And then the whole book is split in three parts. So it went by really fast.

I don’t want to spoil too much because like I said, there is so much that goes on and anymore and you’ll know everything. Just trust me, give it a try. It does take a few pages to get used to the style and the lack of quotation marks, but you need to stick around to see Jack, because if nothing else, HE’S SO WORTH IT!

Man, I can’t wait for book 2.

Kat

Leave a Reply

