4.5 stars to Quicksilver (Ultraviolet #2) by R.J Anderson

Published August 26, 2013 by katheryn13

Back in her hometown, Tori Beaugrand had everything a teenaged girl could want—popularity, money, beauty. But she also had a secret. A secret that could change her life in an instant, or destroy it.

Now she’s left everything from her old life behind, including her real name and Alison, the one friend who truly understood her. She can’t escape who and what she is. But if she wants to have anything like a normal life, she has to blend in and hide her unusual… talents.

Plans change when the enigmatic Sebastian Faraday reappears and gives Tori some bad news: she hasn’t escaped her past. In fact, she’s attracted new interest in the form of an obsessed ex-cop turned investigator for a genetics lab.

She has one last shot at getting her enemies off her trail and winning the security and independence she’s always longed for. But saving herself will take every ounce of Tori’s incredible electronics and engineering skills—and even then, she may need to sacrifice more than she could possibly imagine if she wants to be free.

 

Review:

When I’d read Ultraviolet back…waaay back in when was it, 2011? I thought this book is so good, SO good, there must be a sequel. But I remember on the back page the author said they hadn’t decided on another one. I was bummed, to put it lightly. I’d never been into aliens, and when I first read Ultraviolet I had no idea it was actually about…well…aliens. Sure, they’re not the evil kind (well mostly) but it still surprised me.

So fast forward to 2013 and Quicksilver is released, I’m all over it. But I didn’t realise it would be about a different character. Sometimes when a sequel is from a different pov, it gets me uneasy. Will I like the voice? Will It be a character I liked before? Will previously loved characters show up? Yknow, the usual worries.

Silly me put off reading the book for months because of this. Then one day I’m going through my books and decide to give it a go, and guess what? I loved it. I thought the voice of Tori was nice and refreshing, especially with the humour in some parts. And I may have squealed when Sebastian turned up. I have to say, I hadn’t expected it.

I did get confused at times with the different past and present chapters, and the whole way the chapters were numbered. But I figured it out pretty quickly.

I missed Alison, so having her mentioned, and the odd contact between her and Tori made me smile, but not because of the situation. Just…because.

Milo was an interesting character. At first I thought he was going to be some kind of love interest, and I suppose he was in a weird way. When I found out Tori’s…uh….situation, I found it nice that we could have a close relationship between two characters but there was no reason for it to go further, if that makes sense. It’s actually the first book I’ve read where the MC has been that way. You’ll know what I mean when/if you read it.

I both loved and hated Sebastian. He’s sneaky, mysterious and also really UNF so he messed with my emotions a bit. It was nice to have his character make some development, even if the end made me cringe and want to smack him senseless. The dude has so many issues, he wouldn’t stop beating himself up over stuff. Not literally, though. I kind of felt sorry for him.

Over all, this was an exciting sequel. The pace wasn’t too fast, and could sympathise well with Tori. Deckard creeped me out. That’s all I can really say because…he just did. Ha.

I don’t know if there’ll be a third, but in some ways it would be cool to have Sebastian’s POV from when Quicksilver finished. I don’t know. Just throwing it out there, =P

If you haven’t read Ultraviolet – GO DO IT! If you have, then don’t delay, go pick up Quicksilver NOW because you won’t be disappointed. :D

 

Kat

Leave a Reply

