5 stars to The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Published August 30, 2013 by katheryn13

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave. On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until Cassie meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope for rescuing her brother and even saving herself. Now she must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. Cassie Sullivan gets up.

 

Review:

As I have said in other reviews, I’m not much of a fan of aliens. Well, that about changed when I picked up The 5th Wave.

Exciting, thrilling, funny, romantic, I had it all in the palm of my hands. Oh and add scary to that list, because boy, imagine if an alien spaceship hovered over your world and billions of people were killed? Yeah. Pretty frightening.

Rick Yancey’s mind must be a gold mine because this book was fantastic. From page to page something was happening, and if it wasn’t, myself especially, was anticipating something intense to happen. Especially in the days when Cassie was injured, alone, then saved by this mysterious man. She’s held up for weeks and her doubts about who Evan Walker really is just get worse and worse. I too was worried. I could feel something building up, but there was no clue on when it would happen.

Cassie’s pov was something that lightened my mood even when pure tragedy was going on. Her wit and general sense of humour made me laugh, and then someone would die and you wouldn’t know how to feel. I really liked her personality.

My only nitpick is the change in POV’s, when the book gets split into  sections, confused me at first. It took me about 3 pages to realise I was reading a guys POV. >_< Anyway, I got used to it, and boy, both sides of this story were nail bitingly crazy. I knew they would both join up at some point, but for crying out loud, talk about a dragged out process of waiting for the ball to drop! At least it kept me reading, it kept me wondering, and it kept me on edge.

Really, I enjoyed all of the characters, although not the bad guys. Nope.

The alien race begin using children as an army. This idea freaked me the hell out; to have five year olds with semi-automatic guns? No way. No one should have those, let alone a child!

I literally don’t know how else to explain how much I enjoyed this book, but let me just tell you, you HAVE to read it. If you don’t like aliens, fine, but bear in mind these aliens look HUMAN. How freaky is that? They could be walking among us right now… O_O *peers outside window*

The sequel comes out next year, which is way too long, but I can respectfully appreciate the writing process for something this intricate and intense must take a lot of time and effort and concentration. Because, I really had to concentrate to understand what was happening sometimes, when things went crazy. Lots of deaths, lots of bombs, lots of fighting. But the romance was also unexpected, and that pleased me. I don’t always want cliche “oh yeah I can see what’s going to happen” moments, but I did think it was a bit fast.

Thoroughly enjoyable novel that I will remember for a long long time to come. Probably not suitable for kids due to some language and content, but the rest of you…GO. READ. NOW. :)

Kat

Leave a Reply

