5 stars to Hover (The Taking #2) by Melissa West

Published September 4, 2013 by katheryn13

On Earth, seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander was taught to never peek, but if she hopes to survive life on her new planet, Loge, her eyes must never shut. Because in this world, pleasure is everything, held up by a ruling body that keeps their people in check by giving them what they want and closing their eyes to what’s really happening around them. The only hope Loge has is to move its people to Earth, and they have a plan.

Thousands of humans crossed over to Loge after a poisonous neurotoxin released into Earth’s atmosphere, nearly killing them. They sought refuge in hopes of finding a new life, but what they became were slaves, built to wage war against their home planet. That is, unless Ari and Jackson can stop them. But on Loge, nothing is as it seems…and no one can be trusted.

 

Warning: May contain spoilers from Gravity and lots of sobbing.

Review:

Just finished what I think is the most traumatic book so far this year. I…I am not okay.

So from last we heard in Gravity, Ari had ended up in Loge, the planet in which the gorgeous and delightful Jackson Locke comes from.

Zeus, his grandfather, wants to, essentially, take over Earth.

This is not good.

So now I must go into what Hover brings to the party. Action, romance, tears (from the characters, that is), angst, tears, fighting, more tears, more romance, freaking DEATHS, and then I end up rocking back and forth from the traumatic experience I have just gone through.

I cannot EXPRESS enough how much Melissa West’s writing has improved from Gravity, and even then it was fantastic. Albeit I found Gravity maybe a little heavy on the description side of things, but that’s fairly typical for such an in-depth plot and world that has been created. You’re getting to know the ins and outs. Now in Hover, it’s alllllll going on.

The pacing is spot. on. I cannot tell you how I didn’t want this book to end. It was only 228 pages, after all. A really short book for such a kick ass story.

Ari Alexander just shows all the other heroines in books what a heroine should be like! I mean, sure, she’s maybe a little intense for one girl, but she sure knows where her loyalties lie and she doesn’t sit around waiting for things to fall in her lap. She goes for it. She might break down in the process, but boy does she go in for the kill. And sometimes literally.

She’s learning who Jackson really is, also, and at first their trust is shattered. Although he greatly cares for her. Some might even go as far as to mention the L word, but we won’t tease you. No we won’t. *throws rose petals and hearts everywhere* Okay Cupid, show yourself!

I truly LOVE these two. Ari and Jackson, throughout all their faults and disagreements, they really are two of a kind. They fit each other so perfectly (if I may use this word) that I found myself clutching my chest and awwwwing while reading some scenes. And some scenes might have left me fanning myself. Someone should have warned me about that. I mean, really.

Anyway, Zeus. What can I say about the fella? Apart from me wanting to kill him about as much as half of Loge and wishing a blackhole would suck his ugly ass down and spit out his eyeballs, there’s not much to say. He has to be one of the most wicked alien/man/thing ever. He’s cunning, sick, twisted, and just…sad. Also, if I had to read about him “grinning” one more freaking time, I’d have blown a fuse. I know it was part of the character, but oh my god…would someone wipe that smirk off his face?

Whereas on Earth, things are changing, and not for good. Law has become a different person, as far as Ari is concerned and Gretchen, her once friend, is falling apart.

We also get to meet other relatives, such as Vill, the housemate of Jackson, and Emmy and Mami, who are sisters. They  are so cute. The different abilities they all have, as well, just made me jealous. I know, silly of me.  But throughout the book, whoever Ari talked to, I waited for the other shoe to drop.

You can’t trust anyone.

The sci-fi aspect of this is just so well thought out, and there’s one particular room…that especially creeps me out.

I cannot recommend this enough, and if you haven’t already read Gravity (what are you reading this review for?) GO DO SO NOW! And then read Hover because your mind will be blown to pieces and you’ll be finding bits all over the place. Just saying. Especially when you get to the whopping cliff hanger of an ending.

If I could give 10 stars, I would.

Excellent.

Can’t wait for Collide. *squeals*

Kat

 

Leave a Reply

