5 stars to Awaken (Abandon Trilogy #3) by Meg Cabot

Published October 2, 2013 by katheryn13

Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera knew that by accepting the undying love of John Hayden she’d be forced to live forever in the one place she’s always dreaded most: the Underworld. The sacrifice seemed worth it, but now her happiness and safety in the realm are threatened. The Furies have discovered that John has broken one of their strictest rules and revived a dead soul. If the balance of life and death isn’t restored, both the Underworld and Pierce’s home on Earth will be wiped out by the Furies’ wrath. Pierce has already cheated death once . . . can she do it again?

 

If you have not read the series, there may be some spoilers. Also, what are you doing? GO READ IT!

Review:

I can’t believe this series is at an end, and what a damn…well…content ending it was too. I wish that it wasn’t over, and that we could continue to follow John and Pierce’s story for longer, but alas, that is not to happen.

I adore paranormal/supernatural stories, and when mixed with Green Myth, even more so. Ever since I read Abandon, I fell in love and was hooked. There’s just something about Meg Cabot’s writing that grips you and makes the characters feel real. And so funny, and generally normal. Well, if you can call running the Underworld “normal.”

In Awaken, we’re taken to where Pierce and John are dealing with the aftermath of what happened at the end of Underworld *spoilers* when Alex was brought back to life. Sure, you’d think he’d be appreciative of this, but his whole attitude is pretty much ignorance and when he finally learns the truth, and believes it, he’s still an obnoxious ass.

Karla is inevitably involved for no other reason than being Pierce’s best friend, and she soon finds a fancy in Frank, who I really like. He’s tough but has a sense of humour, in any case. I’m going to miss the witty banter that went on with these “pirate” people. (I know they’re not actually pirates but I can’t think of another word to call them.) They seemed to bring some light when everything else seemed dire and at worlds end. Especially when the Fates seemed to have deserted them and John, in a “hero” attempt, becomes close to death. I won’t say anymore about that, because I’m treading on thin ice. Let’s just say, it’s intense.

Pierce and her group of gangly friends go above ground to find a way to fix the problems with the Underworld, as well as get John back, and they soon come across obstacles. And all around them is chaos, as hurricane Cassandra is blowing Isla Huesos to pieces. Things can’t get more disastrous than that. Well, until she’s being hunted by furies, that is.

I honestly think this was the most jam packed book to end a series. I mean, there were so many conflicts and emotions for Pierce, and then the other problems with Alex, Frank, and a few other revenants that appear, that I didn’t know which way to look. Oh not to mention Pierce’s parents and her grandmother and the Rectors.

If I had to recommend a good story for anyone that likes thrills, romance, humour, action, and a dark theme,  this would be it! The moments between John and Pierce were so sweet and touching, if not a little distracting from all the issues going on around them.

I was going to rate this 4.5 stars then I realised I have no reasons NOT to give it 5 stars. It entertained me in all the right ways, make me swoon, laugh, aww, and at some points, even terrified me that someone important would die.

If you haven’t read the series, do it! (But start with Abandon, because that’s the first. :P )

Kat

Leave a Reply

