4.5 stars to Love You to Death & High Stakes (The Mediator #1-2) by Meg Cabot

Published October 8, 2013 by katheryn13

Meet Susannah Simon: she’s a typical teenage girl, who just happens to be a ghost-hunter …oh, and she’s also dead-over-heels for Jesse – the sexiest spook ever! But can this girl get her ghost?

In “Love You to Death”, Suze arrives in California and has barely unpacked when her mediator skills are put to the test. A vicious spirit in her new school is hell-bent on making her life a complete nightmare, but Suze is more than ready to kick some serious ghost butt if she has to.

In “High Stakes”, Suze’s new life is looking up – cool friends, pool parties and getting to know Jesse (swoon), but then a desperate spirit asks for her help. Suddenly she’s on the trail of a creepy local businessman, who just might be a vampire. Life just got dead complicated. Again.

 

Review:

I’d picked this up at the airport earlier this year, knowing that I’d enjoyed other Meg Cabot books and thought “hey, why not?”

Now, six months later I actually get around to reading it, and would you believe it? I loved it. I’ve not read a book about mediators before and this was a nice surprise.

The style is very similar to how Abandon series was written so I knew I’d get into it easily. My only complaint, well more a comment if I’m honest, is that Suze’s inner monologue got annoying when she would say something and then put “…, I mean.” As if we couldn’t gather that from the previous sentence. This happened quite a lot and is basically my only nitpick.

So onto the rest: Well, I love love LOVE Jesse. The poor fellow is dead but boy does Susannah paint him in a good light. *sigh* He’s friendly, supportive,  caring, and honourable. Sure, he has a bad attitude at first, and he’s very mysterious, but in a way I can understand that.

Adam, at first, I thought he was going to be the love interest. I know, silly now that I think about it. Although he seems cute. I’m not too sure on Cee Cee, but maybe she’ll grow on me. (Hopefully not like a wart. :P ) Some of the other guy characters just seem rather dim and troubled. I mean, you had Bryce (that name also appears in Awaken, which amused me) who had a lot of issues with his dead ex, and Tad…who just had problems.

I really liked the easy way Suze talked and acted around people. She took no crap from anyone, that’s for sure. Father Dominic got on my nerves a bit, but I guess because he’s a very strong religious person, he’s got his way of working things, and he doesn’t agree with Suze’s manner of mediating. Then in the first book you have Heather who added some action, but then she grated on my nerves, too. This has nothing to do with the writing or anything, but I rather think the characters were supposed to make you want to slap them every which way, y’know?

Doc, Sleepy and Dopey. What a genius way of naming your step-brothers, or any siblings, eh? I didn’t particularly like Dopey, but Sleepy I got used to. In fact, you didn’t really see/hear much of him. Can I just hug Doc? He’s only 12 but as adorable as a science nerd and a teddy bear. I don’t know…It’s an odd combination and I’m pretty sure that sentence makes no sense…

The ghosts were almost as intense and as interesting as the living, which added something new. I found the mystery and small amount of romance was something that kept the story from seeming thin and lifeless (no pun intended).

Meg Cabot has a wonderful way of sucking  you into a story, into the characters lives. The modern lingo and easy style is in-depth enough to add something deep and not seem too flimsy, too one dimensional. I was so sad when Abandon trilogy ended and then going onto this, it just made me love Meg even more. I can’t wait to  read the next books in this series.

Kat

Leave a Reply

