5 stars to Shadows by Paula Weston

Published November 2, 2013 by katheryn13

It’s been almost a year since Gaby Winters was in the car crash that killed her twin brother, Jude. Her body has healed in the sunshine of Pandanus Beach, but her grief is raw and constant.

It doesn’t help that every night in her dreams she kills demons and other hell-spawn. And then Rafa comes to town. Not only does he look exactly like the guy who’s been appearing in Gaby’s dreams, he claims a history with her brother that makes no sense.

Gaby is forced to accept that what she thought she knew about herself and her life is only a shadow of the truth – and that the truth is more likely to be found in the shadows of her nightmares.

Who is Rafa? Who are the Rephaim? And most importantly – who can she trust

Review:

I can’t believe this. Where has this amazingly brilliant story been all my life? I have not read an angel/demon book as good as this in a long, long LONG time, and seen as I’ve read some pretty good ones recently, that’s saying something. I mean, Amazon was hiding this from me, clearly.

Paula Weston has made angels something new, refreshing and not at all predictable. Yeah, sure, they have some similar traits to what we’ve probably read before, but the characters, the pacing, the plot…all so captivating. I didn’t want to stop, I was so sucked in.

Gaby Winters is what I would call a normal human being. Except for the fact, she’s not.

She’s had her memories wiped, and because of this she doesn’t know any of the mysterious people coming to find her, and what I love most is she doesn’t just cower and do what she’s told. She puts her foot down, she tells them again and again what she wants, what she doesn’t want. She stands by her morals. She won’t just go along with what others say she is or how she should behave. Oh no. Gaby has a mind of her own. I love it.

Then you have Maggie, her best friend. A friend who has been with Gaby for a good year or more, and sticks by Gaby through pretty much everything that is thrown their way in this book. I wish I had a friend that dedicated. When Maggie gets “taken”, Gaby will do anything to get her back without a hair out of place.

Rafa. What can I say? He’s hot, he’s fierce, he’s loyal, and for some weird reason he has morals. I like the dude. He’s  trying to help Gaby restore her memories, but from the readers angle (oops, nearly wrote ‘angels’) it seems not for selfish reasons. He was good friends with Jude, Gaby’s twin brother, and since he’s also missing, Rafa wants to help. Of course, there is for the most part, an ulterior motive behind this in that they are trying to understand what happened between Jude and Gaby before things went wrong. This is basically the underlining question for the whole book, but definitely not the only question you as the reader or even the characters find themselves asking.

Gaby is left with a ton of unanswered questions and I’m sure eventually they’ll be answered.

There are so many characters in this that it’s hard to name and shame them (haha) but I can’t really fault any, for they each add a different piece to the puzzle, or at least, they all add something. I suppose there was one person that really grated on my nerves: Simon.

I found him clingy, annoying, nosy, just EW get away and let them do their job! lol But yeah.

Asides from all that, I can’t recommend this highly enough and if you’ve ever had your doubts when it comes to angel stories, please PLEASE give this one a go. It will blow your mind. There’s just so many elements to this: the right amount of romance, plenty of kick butt action, some humour (mostly good lines from Rafa), bitchiness and drama. I have just bought Haze, the sequel to Shadows, and I plan on digging into this tonight. Bring it on!

Kat

Leave a Reply

