4 stars to Mean Spirits & Young Blood (The Mediator #3-4) by Meg Cabot

Published November 3, 2013 by katheryn13

Meet Susannah Simon: she’s a typical teenage girl who just happens to be a ghost-hunter …oh, and she’s also dead-over-heels for Jesse – the sexiest spook ever! But can this girl get her ghost? In “Mean Spirits”, Suze is all set to spend a relaxing summer on the beach, until she runs into the vengeful ghosts of four high-school students. She must use her mediating skills to guide these ghouls through the afterlife and stop them wreaking havoc in the present. In “Young Blood”, Suze is heartbroken when gorgeous ghost Jesse doesn’t seem to love her back. When his 150-year-old grave is unearthed in her backyard, she is determined to discover how and why he died. But one thing’s for sure – digging up the past can be a deadly business…

Review:

I really enjoyed the first two books of this series, and am liking how consistent the rest have been so far. There have been improvements (mostly bits that annoyed me in 1 +2 aren’t mentioned often in 3 +4 therefore doesn’t make me want to scream + shout. lol)

Suze has only been living in California for a couple of months and she’s seen more trouble than most (if anyone) see in their lives. It’s almost  comical how bad things get, and how she deals with them.

I particularly liked Young Blood as it includes a new character, Jack, who turns out to have something in common with Suze.

Suze manages to collect enemies wherever she goes. And how her family hasn’t yet cottoned on to the fact she’s always out and getting injured, I’ll never understand. I mean, she almost dies and no one even notices. Makes me laugh, to be honest.

I love how Jesse is still by her side, but when his private life starts to show in the form of artefacts found under the house, things get complicated and Suze panics, thinking that it’ll lead to the reason Jesse hasn’t passed on to wherever the ghosts go to.

In Mean Spirits, however, Gina, Suze’s best friend from New York, visits and things add a twist.

As much as I gave this 4 stars,  because I did enjoy it, and I do like the characters, I can’t say that anything really sticks out to me.

I remember Young Blood more, maybe because it was the last part of the book, but also because more seemed to happen. These are light reads, fun, adventurous, even romantic in parts. You don’t need to struggle to understand, or concentrate too hard. Even the author gives a recap of what happened in the previous books, which does irritate me a  bit but that could because I’m reading 2 in 1 books and so I already remember what happened, whereas I suppose, anyone else would read them separately months apart.

I can’t wait to read the next books because of the ending of Young Blood. It’s so good!

Kat

Leave a Reply

