3 stars to Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1) by Gena Showalter

Published January 16, 2014 by katheryn13

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish.

 

Review:

Having been recommended this book several times, I had to give it a go. I started it a few months ago, and thought the characters were interesting, the story somewhat different to what I’m used to, but at least it was fun.

I mean, Zombies? That’s not an everyday occurrence for me. :P I liked Alice. I thought she was strong, brave, and rather funny. Kat was what a best friend should be; trusting, fun, loyal…and then there’s Cole. The bad boy. Yeah he might have helped me like the book.

I had thought there might be a love triangle with Justin and Cole wanting Ali, but turns out Justin wasn’t really a strong contender. Cole I found pushy, rather hot and cold, and a little annoying. I mean, you can’t go around beating people up for just looking at the girl you sorta like but don’t like but do…you know? It doesn’t make sense. He either wants to be with Ali, or he doesn’t. It’s not rocket science. And what’s more is Ali is only 16 and thinking of all these things that to be honest should not be going through a 16 year old girls head! Or am I just a fuddy-duddy? Who knows.

I liked the premise that zombies were spirits and the zombie hunters could part with their bodies and fight in the spirit world, or whatever it was. Although in some cases I think my nonreligious self found it cheesy.

Now, I did get 3 quarters a way through this in a steady time, but then I had to stop. Not because of the story itself, but in honesty, I found some of the bits too…cheesy. I mean, if you’re in the middle of a fight with zombies, you’re injured and tired, you would hardly have the time to recognise a smell of the guy you like. I mean, who smells sandalwood in among rot and blood?

That is pretty much what made me stop reading. Until a couple days ago when I decided to tackle it again and I finished, but it wasn’t really up there in my top books. I wanted to love it, but despite the action, the hot romance and the zombies, there were just too many “ugh, really?” moments for me to give this more than a 3 star.

Kat

Leave a Reply

